Last catch up… I promise

Katy ran in her first 5K and mile run. Although I didn’t get her official time I’m sure it was under 35 minutes. Not too damned shabby for a kid that didn’t even train for the event except for running “suicides” in basketball practice.

Her artwork was chosen for the t-shirts for the second running of the Turkey Trot. All for the benefit of the local child care center.

Katy and her mother both voted the “soul patch” as a non-keeper. I told Katy that it was a turkey beard in honor of the run.

Speaking of turkeys; there are three less to feed in the flock. Yesterday was butchering day for our big breasted bronze birds. We don’t have a scale here but I would guesstimate that the tom was well over forty pounds.

Note; The official weight on the largest of the three was 38lbs. the neck, gizzards and liver didn’t make it on the scale. Katy named this particular bird Elvis…So we are having Elvis for
Thanksgiving dinner.


This afternoon Katy and I finished peeling the skins from our luffa gourds. We had a very abundant crop of luffa this year. I’m thinking that I might cut some into one inch slices that will be placed in our molds for the next batch of soap. They are very good for kitchen clean up as a pot scrubber.

After they are peeled I wash them and try to wring out as much of the meat and seeds as I can. I’ll soak them in hot water then repeat they wringing out of meat and seeds. After removing most of the seed they will get a bath of 10% bleach and water to remove any staining from rotten flesh. Once they are dried I’ll give them another shake down to remove most of the rest of the seed.

5 Comments

  1. karl said,

    November 22, 2009 at 2:19 PM

    nice catch-up, seems like you have been very busy. i like the shirt artwork.k-)

  2. edifice rex said,

    November 22, 2009 at 8:18 PM

    yeah, the soul patch, weeeelll; but now, a goatee, they have mystic powers you know.Oh, siding patch and such looks good and cool t-shirt!

  3. Woody said,

    November 23, 2009 at 12:39 AM

    Karl…I'll be sure to tell her that you like the shirt. We have been a little busy.Annie…have you been talking to my girls behind my back?

  4. Ed said,

    November 23, 2009 at 4:27 PM

    This is my first introduction to the luffa gourds. After you skin them, boil and bleach them, what do you do with them?

  5. Woody said,

    November 24, 2009 at 12:46 AM

    Ed..I wouldn't say that boiling is necessary. A good washing and wringing out is all. I soak them in hot tap water for a time, to loosen up the meat and seeds. Once they are dried they are great for scrubbing pots, bottle/canning jars. My wife uses them for a bath scrub.


Leave a Reply

