Katy’s Photo Update

Since I’ve done such a terrible job of keeping up to date with this blog my 10 year old has taken the lead in the photographic duties. She tells me I’ve really dropped the ball the last month or so.

Thankfully I believe she has a damn good eye for photo composition. She has decided to take a photography project in 4H this year.



Our garden has just gone to hell! The tomatoes were hit very hard by blight and the squash were hit especially hard by bore and squash bugs. Our sweet corn was fantastic for the second year in a row and the peppers have all done quite well. The eggplants were the big surprise for us this year. I’ve never had a lot of luck with them but this year I planted very late and avoided an invasion of flea beetles that has always spelled failure for us.

The greenhouse may soon get a major upgrade. Depending on my negotiating skills with a local man that has a pile of double wall clear plastic panels sitting at his farm. I’ve been working on him, off and on, for the last six months to let them go. I’m beginning to think that I have made a little progress with him.

We still have a ways to go with this years addition of the garden. I’ve got sweet potatoes to dig and we have a ton of dipper and luffa gourds to cure.

It has been a strange year for us weather wise. Unusually cool and wet. I can only recall turning on the water twice this summer and one of those times was a “hydrotherapy” session. Standing in the middle of the garden with the hose and watering away a very bad day.

We have a couple of house projects that are about to get rolling along soon. I’ll have a posting soon about “the list”

Peace

3 Comments

  1. edifice rex said,

    September 6, 2009 at 10:47 AM

    Those photos are great! Katy should do well on this 4-H project.

  2. Melodie said,

    September 6, 2009 at 3:13 PM

    We had a bad garden year,only in the opposite way,hot and dry.Once it is in your blood you keep trying no matter what it seems!Love the turkey photo,we are trying turkeys this year too.Good luck with 4-H !

  3. Woody said,

    September 7, 2009 at 4:54 AM

    She says…Thank you Annie.Melodie…just a strange weather year. I'm so looking forward to what our winter will bring us this next round.


Leave a Reply

