After the storm

Last night a line of thunderstorms pushed through ahead of a welcomed cold front. We received a quarter inch of rain. My plastic on the greenhouse finally gave into the wind. It has lasted far longer than I would have thought it would, being it was 6mil off the shelf sheeting. It held up through the winter ice and snow and springs wind and hail storm, but gave into degradation from the sun and not enough duct tape on the small tears and wear spots.

Looks like I can finally install the new channel and spring tie down system I bought earlier this spring. I thought I would have had it done much sooner than the end of June.

Fuzz the snake killer. Enlarge this picture…he looks like he has some big old puffy lips.

The bean arches are starting to close in. The purple podded beans are out doing the blue lake big time.Our sweet potato rings are beginning to fill out and trail. Another two weeks and this should look like a damn kudzu patch.


Some of the pumpkins are that were set out early have set some nice fruit. This one is by far the largest of the six that were of the same planting.

9 Comments

  1. edifice rex said,

    June 28, 2009 at 10:56 AM

    Sorry about your greenhouse but glad it wasn't worse. I'm sure you'll have it fixed up better in no time. Your garden is looking so great; interesting method for the sweet potatoes.Oh, love the RR crossing sign. Did you happen to notice what the object was in my recent 'How Log Blues' post? I figured you would recognize it.

  2. edifice rex said,

    June 28, 2009 at 10:57 AM

    Oops, "How LONG Blues", I meant. 😦

  3. Woody said,

    June 28, 2009 at 1:32 PM

    Haaa…a point protector! I hadn't REALLY looked at it till your comment. At first I thought it was an old bumper.

  4. cat said,

    June 28, 2009 at 4:51 PM

    your garden always sparks a bit of jealousy in me…makes me want to move north to a real farm..:) thanks so much for sharing. it's all just beautiful!sorry about the greenhouse, but good thing you have the material you need to fix it! 🙂

  5. Ron said,

    June 28, 2009 at 8:24 PM

    Bummer about the plastic, nice that it held up as long as it needed too though. Everything looks great! That pumpkin is something… looks like mine will be toast before they do anything, thanks to the squash bugs here.You grow a ton of beans!Ron

  6. karl said,

    June 29, 2009 at 4:59 AM

    oh no. sorry about the storm damage. that is a good cat to kill snakes. your garden looks beautiful.

  7. Woody said,

    June 29, 2009 at 5:57 AM

    Cat..Thank you. Ya'll can move here anytime and we can practice pulling weeds. Ron…I was amazed that it stayed together as long as it did. Yesterday I cleaned up the remains and it was so brittle that it would nearly crumble like a dry leaf.I've lost half of my squash so far. As soon as i pull a dead plant I sow some more seed for a later shot at success. And yes, we grow way too many beans.Karl…The last two cats we have had have been good hunters. This guy has killed two copperheads. He is an all star in my book.

  8. Ed Abbey said,

    June 29, 2009 at 6:48 AM

    Gardens looking excellent. A snake killing cat, now that one is a keeper!

  9. Woody said,

    June 29, 2009 at 7:18 AM

    Ed..Tell me about it! I just wish he would find a different spot to stage his kills. Scares the hell outta me when he leaves gifts at the back door.


Leave a Reply

