Mid-June

The rain has finally stopped. I’ve lost track of exactly how much we’ve had in the last week because both of us were emptying the gauge. The best we can figure is we are well over five inches this week. The ground is saturated and some of my tomatoes are showing their displeasure with having wet feet.

This mornings rain total.

Thankfully our drainage is fairly good for having heavy clay soils. We have used raised beds and heavy mulching as well as a fairly large composting cycle to build up our garden plot but there are still low spots that get swampy. I’m also happy with my decision to have our pigs at the top of the hill. I’ve seen so many pig pens that are stuck in the lowest, worse draining area of a farm. Granted that we don’t keep hogs year round but if we did I like the idea of not seeing a damned mud filled paddock. They need to have an island of escape from soggy conditions.


Tomatillos
Toothache plant…it works well. I’d like to see if its pain killing properties can be used on small hand wounds but I haven’t remembered to use it when I’m jabbing my hands into stuff that I shouldn’t.
Potatoes
Cherokee purple
Beans are working their way up the arches.


Golden and Detroit beets


Slowly I’m turning the plant selection in the greenhouse to peppers and eggplant. I pulled some of the soft neck garlic this week and was very pleased with the results.

Canna
Butterfly weed.
We picked up a second pair of blue slates.

12 Comments

  1. Ron said,

    June 16, 2009 at 8:06 PM

    I can't believe how big your squash are!Nice-looking pork. I'm hoping I can find a couple in a couple of weeks.We sure have had enough rain for a while.Ron

  2. el said,

    June 17, 2009 at 5:45 AM

    Woody, like Ron I am quite jealous of the size of your squash! Mine started in the ground so they're still at the first-leaf stage…we've had that wet stuff too.But! I pulled my first softnecks up in the greenhouse too: they were huge. Considering I planted them on Jan. 1st it's kind of surprising but the leaves were looking floppy so I figured it's time.Had you considered sweet potatoes in the greenhouse? They'd love it in there.

  3. Ed Abbey said,

    June 17, 2009 at 6:19 AM

    I lost track of the rain too but mostly because it was too depressing to go out and empty the gauge. Just a week off for planting is all I'm asking.Your garden is best described as mouth watering.

  4. Woody said,

    June 17, 2009 at 6:53 AM

    The spaghetti squash and butternut are doing great, but the watermelon and pumpkins are not looking as good.Ron..we had a hard time finding any heritage breeds that were the right weight for Katy to start her project with. If I had our barn built I would try to talk Theresa into us farrowing our own swine from now on. Some of the local guys were charging the kids upwards of $150 for a shoat. I won't pay what some pay for a "show" pig. It's a market barrow program. If that price is where they start it doesn't do well for their bottom line.El..Thanks. I wasn't sure when mine were suppose to come out either. Do you have any idea about the hard necks?I have not thought of sweet potatoes in the green house till you mentioned it. I've got a great spot for them too, in the old worm bin.Ed…first of all I have not forgotten about the strawberry pie recipe. I'll beat it out of her tonight.Thanks for the nice comment. This spring has been a little like last, but cooler. I hope it dries up enough to get your garden in. I know the farmers are having a hard time with it right now. Haying is the same way.

  5. cat said,

    June 17, 2009 at 7:48 AM

    oh gosh!! your garden is just amazing! mine is so mini compared to your's..haha! we are doing more raised beds so we can have some fall planting going on as well….i love your bean hoop design..:)just gorgeous..and i wish we had your rain too! 😉

  6. June 20, 2009 at 10:58 AM

    I swore I wouldn't peek at your garden, but I couldn't help myself – it is gorgeous! Hear, Hear on the pigs – some people seem to think pigs want mud all the time – Check out this link:http://ebeyfarm.blogspot.com/2009/06/pigators.htmlpoor piggies – your's look very happy 🙂

  7. Woody said,

    June 20, 2009 at 12:12 PM

    Cat…thank you. I gotta give credit where it's due for the arches to Karl.Nita..If it makes you feel any better…my spaghetti squash and pumpkins were hit by the damned vine bores again. I hate them buggers.pigators…ha! what a damned mess he's got on his hands.

  8. karl said,

    June 20, 2009 at 5:01 PM

    hey where did my comment go? i came back to see what coy response you'd made. it was gone, not there… probably my fault, stupid blogger anyway. i'll blame them if you don't mind…i forget exactly what coy, interesting and insightful thing i said exactly except it had something to do with how similar your farmstead seems to ours. yours appears a little further along though..nice post.

  9. Woody said,

    June 21, 2009 at 5:58 AM

    I wish I had seen your comment. I personally enjoy a razor sharp tongue and wit to match; you seem to be blessed with both. We have been here for eight years and started from scratch. It does take so much time and effort to get things to match my dreams of how I would like them. It's very satisfying when someone has a similar vision and complements efforts on yours…thanks

  10. June 21, 2009 at 5:09 PM

    Maybe a little, but not really – I hope global warming doesn't bring those pests here… I'm used to complaining about how cold and wet we are. ;)Maybe your squash would feel better if they could see their baby cousins in Oregon!

  11. edifice rex said,

    June 21, 2009 at 7:45 PM

    Wow! again! Everything looks great.

  12. Woody said,

    June 22, 2009 at 6:11 AM

    Nita..I don't know how the squash would feel but I would sure enjoy being at a higher, cooler elevation this week. Somehow we went from a cool and wet spring to a friggin sauna. Don't mind the heat much but hate the feeling of having flypaper under my arms.I've an Aunt and Uncle in Portland that have been asking us up for ever. Maybe next summer we can swing through and compare squash ;)Annie…I really liked your wildflower pictures. What a great foreground for the house.


Leave a Reply

