What’s growing on

I truly enjoy this time of year when every walk around the house and trip out to the garden is a surprise of new growth.



There haven’t been any new takers on the free rent offer in the gourds.

Baby peaches…

Columbine.

I have been moving most of our seedlings to their permanent summer homes. The tomatoes are next to get transplanted.

I just feel downright geeky getting excited over having fruit on the vine in the greenhouse. This is my first year using this tool so it’s a ton of fun to have been able to move along with our garden at such an accelerated rate.

We just planted our greenbeans and the potatoes have yet to break through the mulch but I did take a peek at one end of the rows and they will soon be busting through. I’m still hauling in loads of compost for the area that we will block in our sweet corn.

7 Comments

  1. karl said,

    April 28, 2009 at 5:12 AM

    beautiful garden and green house. spring is so exciting. this is our first year with a greenhouse too. it has added a whole dimension to spring gardening. it is very fulfilling. happy spring..

  2. Ron said,

    April 28, 2009 at 9:26 PM

    Kiddo and I just read this together. We both think you’ve got an awesome garden growing on, and that greenhouse ROCKS! I’m really glad that you identified that plant as columbine… the one you gave us is flowering too, today. One of these days I’ll learn the proper names. Still enjoy them though. :)Ron

  3. Woody said,

    April 28, 2009 at 11:07 PM

    Karl..Happy spring to you as well. I’m wondering why I waited so long to build one. Besides all the advantages of extended seasons with the greenhouse, it is an awesome place to sit out and enjoy a cold spring rain while staying toasty.Ron.. I couldn’t agree with ya’ll more. Glad to hear everyone is back where they belong.peace

  4. edifice rex said,

    May 1, 2009 at 4:21 PM

    Your place and gardens look fabulous!

  5. cheesychick said,

    May 8, 2009 at 7:03 AM

    What is the flower called, third photo down from the top? Too cool.I love the photos of the gardens and greenhouse. I am so jealous of your vegetables already. For Pete’s sake, those were taken in April! Wow.P.S. You should feel honored, I have not commented on anyone’s blog for going on two months now!

  6. Woody said,

    May 9, 2009 at 7:42 PM

    Annie…thanks a bunchCheesy..plumonaria or lungwort.The greenhouse has been a great new tool for us. I have really enjoyed learning what I have so far.I do feel honored since all you’ve had to put up with since the fire. I’m glad to see you’re back at posting.

  7. Anonymous said,

    May 16, 2009 at 8:59 AM

    Great pictures!Reneegardendesk.com


Leave a Reply

