Visitors

We were graced with a visit from my friend from the Hickory Hills yesterday. Ron and his lovely family stopped by for a visit on their way home from the frigid north.

I felt an odd sensation in meeting someone whom I have become acquainted with from reading their blog for a year and a half. It was so different in sitting down to talk with someone for the first time face to face and they knew so much about me. It was as if talking to a clairvoyant or finding myself in a dream where I forgot almost everything about my life and someone is helping me remember (which ain’t too far from the way my head rattles anyway). We sat for a spell and talked about how we got where we are and a little about where we would like to go. Unfortunately my girls had to run off for riding lessons so they missed out on getting to know our new/old friends better.

We walked around and discussed our homesteads. What we were doing and wanted to do. Stories about our chickens, hogs and gardens. Why we were doing things the way we are.

We were gifted with some wonderful cookies that I’m told I can eat ALL of guilt free and a home baked loaf of bread. I tried the cookies…we will be needing the recipe!

I sent Ron home with a few sacks full of work. We walked around the house and dug up clumps of perennials. Columbine, lambs ear, day lilies, phlox, stonecrop and portulaca was what we sacked up. I also sent them an open invitation to return here anytime. Hopefully the next time we will be able to sit longer, put our feet and just be. (I know after driving for a bajillion miles I’m not in the best of visiting moods)

3 Comments

  1. Ron said,

    April 2, 2009 at 4:51 PM

    We enjoyed the visit, Woody. It was great to see your projects and homestead. And yeah, kinda weird to know so much about someone the first time you meet them. :)We definitely didn’t do enough spitting and lying though. Hehe. Maybe next time. Thanks again for the perennials. I’ll send that cookie recipe over as soon as I pry it out of Mel’s hands. :)Ron

  2. karl said,

    April 3, 2009 at 6:05 AM

    it sounds very fun! meeting fellow bloggers in person is such a weird experience. a strange history, many obstacles of normal budding friendship are immediately dissolved in such a way that is almost uncomfortable. yet, the common thread makes other things seem almost cozy.i like it..

  3. Woody said,

    April 3, 2009 at 11:56 AM

    You nailed it Karl. It was just so different.


Leave a Reply

