Last Hurrah?

This morning we had a light snow of about an inch. My favorite type of snow that clings to the tree trunks and their branches but is gone by noon.




Taking a walk around the house I found a few plants that I didn’t expect to find up yet, although the hellbourne below was no surprise.



Everything appears to have not suffered any damage from the cold.

Hopefully this will be the last of the snow and cold weather that we’ll face till late fall. The dig in the dirt bug has infested our household. This is the first year with our greenhouse, so for lack of a better way to say it…I’m digging it.

Yesterday while it was raining and with temps in the upper 40’s I spent most of the morning putting seedlings into larger pots, planting some in the beds and weeding. It’s just so cool to listen to the rain on the plastic and feel the warmth that the structure provides.

For the most part the seedlings are doing just great. I had a few of the melons, tamdew in particular, that were a little close to the window during the last really cold nights we had and I had failed to double cover them.

The squash plants are flanked by Sherwood leeks.

Don’t you just love the sight of that wonderful yellow flower on what will be the earliest tomato that I have ever had.

A bed of rocky top mix from Baker Creek in need of some serious thinning.

I ran a pvc line from the hydrant on the far side of our chicken coop to a spigot inside the greenhouse. It is also linked up with the hog spiglets in their pen. I’ll have to blow the line out during the winter but for spring and summer it will be nice not to have to drag a hose around to this side of the garden.


The new fruit trees came in yesterday so I put them in a bucket of water before I plant them. Hopefully the ground will drain well enough for me to get them planted no later than Tuesday.

We ordered a couple of pear tree and a pair of peaches from Stark Brothers.


This little sprout is our favorite source for tea, lemongrass.

These little tags have become my new friend. A ballpoint pen will emboss the label so there is no fading from sun or wash out. They are from Field and Forest Products.


Red cheese, Nardello and black jalapeno peppers will be next to move to larger pots.


I’ve already put some of the Cherokee Purple starts in the beds. The wing doors of the greenhouse will go up this summer and some of the starts will remain inside along with some of the peppers and eggplant.


This mess is the worm bin that has been the recipient of a steady flow of five gallon buckets of coffee grounds from work in addition to our household kitchen waste.


The local population looks like they’re doing what is expected of them. Although they are doing a bang up job in the greenhouse they soon will be finding a new home outside the footprint of the building. I have found that I can use the extra room for plantings instead of vermiculture.

7 Comments

  1. March 29, 2009 at 1:58 PM

    Ah warmth, we had snow this am too, but it doesn’t look like it will be leaving as soon as yours.Thanks for the tour!

  2. Woody said,

    March 29, 2009 at 3:52 PM

    Nita…anytime

  3. Ron said,

    March 29, 2009 at 6:46 PM

    Did I mention how glad I am that you got a digital camera? :)Glad to hear that you had no damage from the snow/cold. We coasted through too, hope it’s the last of all that for a while.Man, your greenhouse is just too cool… I’m just stupified that you have a tomato flower already. Wow. That’s incredible. Do you heat it? I’m thinking about a smallish greenhouse next to the house, and pumping house air through it…Hey, I’m growing some Rocky Top mix too! For your PVC line, did you bury it? I’d like to run one to the hogs and summer kitchen, but my back doesn’t want to trench…I’m very impressed with the twigs from Stark Bros, I’ll be ordering there again, hope yours do well.Great post, man, loved seeing everything around there!Ron

  4. cygnetbrown said,

    March 29, 2009 at 7:12 PM

    I’m new to blogger and am just figuring out how to navigate. I’ve really enjoyed your pictures and telling about all the things you’re doing. We didn’t get any snow where we live but it sure has been cold. It looks like we may get a couple more cold nights over the next few days. Love your green house. I’m ‘green’ with envy.

  5. Woody said,

    March 29, 2009 at 8:10 PM

    Ron..I did get a little picture thick on this post. The tomato with the blooms was NOT one of my seed starts but they were bought two weeks ago. I still think it’s cool that they are as far along as they are. The pvc is partially buried. Crossing two walkways I trenched it in. The rest of the line actually runs above the windows of the chicken coop.Pretty expensive sticks…ain’t they?Cygnetbrown..Glad to have you come by. I’m really enjoying getting to know the greenhouse. I’m hoping that it becomes our favorite tool.peace

  6. Danielle said,

    April 1, 2009 at 3:31 PM

    I love all the pictures! The greenhouse looks great!We dump all our coffee grounds on our blueberry beds. At this point, I’m still waiting for more than a handful of berries. Maybe this year!

  7. Woody said,

    April 2, 2009 at 5:48 AM

    Danielle..Thanks. I’m having fun trying to figure out what is the best way for me to use it.peace


Leave a Reply

