Sprung

The last few days have been absolutely wonderful weather wise. I’ve taken this opportunity to get a truckload of work done here.

I started with the coop that was long overdue for a mucking and finished putting some deer netting over the top of the run. I had a thought about planting some grape vines near the corner posts of the run. I don’t really care too much about the grapes as much as I thought it would look kinda cool.

Planted another twelve thornless blackberries along the west side of the garden.

Expanded the pig pen by another section of panel for this year.

Cut and plugged new shittake logs.


Here is one of the dowels after being covered with a light coat of wax to retain moisture.

Started prepping the raised beds by giving them a lift with my new broadfork and weeding. Planted another mess of beets and a bed of mixed lettuce. The parsnips are making their start towards spring.

Hauled in loads of compost. Dug and planted the potatoes. Two variety this year, Yukon Gold and Red Pontiac.

It’s so nice to see the all the young green pushing through.

The strawberries have been uncovered from their straw blankets ready for this years hopeful glut of fresh berries.

Spread some straw over the asparagus bed and burned it off. This hot and fast burning little fire cleans up the bed nicely, helps cut down on some of the nasty little critters eggs hiding out in the litter and reveals some of the young weeds for easy picking before they get too far along.

Removed landscape block from the front of the house that surrounded a brick patio and beds for a small kitchen garden and replaced them with natural stone that grows so well here. I wasn’t really planning on this job but it soon took over the rest of the weekend.

My grandson Collin was out this past weekend to help me find every one of the eggs in the coop with as much enthusiasm for the first found as the last.

Built a nesting box for the turkeys.



Ain’t he a handsome young fella? We brought them home and to my surprise the hen laid our first turkey egg the same day. I thought it would be a week before they settled in to their new confines and resumed laying.

Cleaned up some mistakes in the greenhouse and re-potted some of my early seeding.

Now I’m so bushed I need to go back to work to get some rest…lol

8 Comments

  1. Ron said,

    March 22, 2009 at 8:27 PM

    Hey, Woody… I didn’t see you posted till just now. Wow! I’m very glad that you got that digital camera, enjoyed your photos. Your strawberries look great! I need to get Big Joe a turkey hen. What do the eggs taste like?Ron

  2. Woody said,

    March 25, 2009 at 7:02 PM

    Ron…the camera has been nice. I still like my old camera though. I’m very hopeful this year of what we might get out of our garden. It has been a long journey getting our ground into a decent condition. It ain’t called a rocky ridge for nothing.peace

  3. Ron said,

    March 25, 2009 at 8:26 PM

    Hehe, we’re on a rocky ridge too, I know what you mean about the native “soil”. I have such terribly high hopes this year for the garden too.Those shittake logs look awesome… I can’t wait to see that and learn more. Burning the asparagus bed, I’ll have to remember that, this being the first time growing it for me.Take care,Ron

  4. karl said,

    March 27, 2009 at 3:57 AM

    i need to go back to work to get some rest too.

  5. Woody said,

    March 27, 2009 at 6:52 PM

    Karl…Not that I’m exactly proud of it..but I always seem to damn near kill myself around here.

  6. March 28, 2009 at 5:16 AM

    You had me at shitake…Oh how I so desire to grow my own. Do you have to reorder spores every year with them? I am ignorant on the subject but have such a desire for Shitake and portabella… My favorite mushrooms which always go on the homemade pizza and salads…and sausage rice soup and… well, I just love mushrooms on a lot of things.Would love to read more about your shitake growing and set up.Hint hint.LOL.

  7. Danielle said,

    March 28, 2009 at 8:22 PM

    Lookin’ good. What kind of turks did you get? Ours just started laying too. I hope we get babies this year, as last year was a wash. I’m adding Bourbon reds to our line up this year.

  8. Woody said,

    March 29, 2009 at 5:17 AM

    Tammie..The logs will last for several years from one inoculation. I've picked everything that is mushroom from Field & Forest Products. This is my first year with the shittakes. I've a friend that is one of those guys that has tried to grow EVERYTHING at one time or another. He has been my mushroom coach. If he throws some pearls of wisdom my way I'll string them up and pass them on.Danielle…Thanks. We found a pair of gray slates. Planning on adding some more to the flock soon. I would like to have this pair give us some babies too but she hasn't shown any interest in setting.


Leave a Reply

