Cody

Last Saturday we were at a one day basketball tournament. There is quite a bit of time between games and unfortunately the host town doesn’t offer too much for dining choices or any extracurricular activity. We made the twenty mile drive to the next town that we knew had a choice of eateries for lunch. While we were there we had some time to pick up a few items from the farm and home supply. The Humane Society was having an adoption day on the sidewalk of the store.

We walked over to take a look at the dogs when this little guy grabbed my attention. He reminded me of the best dog I ever had. I knew there was no way he would ever be anything like my old buddy but I gave him a chance to prove me wrong. We took him for a short walk on a lead and promptly returned him back to his crate. We had to get moving. The next games time was quickly approaching.

We talked about how he was such an easy going dog in our short visit. We talked about how it is always such a pain in the ass to introduce and keep a new four something year old dog to our little pack of canine paradise. That we would be inviting in an unknown someones training and behavior that we wouldn’t approve of. We talked about the fact that he was NOT my old dog and no matter how wonderfully he performed he would never take his place. We talked about how stupid it would be to have another dog around not knowing if he might just be some sort of psycho dog from hell.

On Monday morning after work I stopped in the shelter to see if he was still around and spend some more time with him to see if he would be a good fit for us.


Well…I have one supporter in my decision to adopt this little guy. Just like every other critter that shows up around here or that I drag home, Theresa will soon be sweet talking him and saying what a great guy he is. It might be a while but she is really the one around here with the soft heart.

So please welcome Cody to our little piece of heaven that some have called Chickenkill Hill or Euthanasia Ridge. I think we’ll stick with the Rocky Ridge.

6 Comments

  1. February 12, 2009 at 6:05 AM

    what a beautiful and cheerful looking dog! looks like you made a good decision bringing him home. congrats. sometimes i think i want another, then i remember that a. all my dogs are about the same age and that means they are all going to go feeble about the same time and b. they are a pain in the butt sometimes.

  2. Ed Abbey said,

    February 12, 2009 at 6:09 AM

    It was one of the hardest things not to get another dog after my first and only one died. But at the time it was for the best. Perhaps one day I will again and if I do, I aim to rescue one from a shelter. I like the more mature dogs that don’t chew on furnature.

  3. Kush said,

    February 12, 2009 at 6:27 AM

    Congrats on the new dog. Our two dogs are both rescues, and I personally think that is the best way to go. How many do you have now? Kush

  4. Woody said,

    February 12, 2009 at 4:12 PM

    Polar Bear and Dodger…He is a handsome guy. So far he has been a very well behaved dog. I like to stagger the ages of dogs in. They tend to show each other the ropes.Ed..I like the rescue dogs too. There are just so many that need a place to call home.Kush..We are now back to three. I like having the trio. They seem to have a better attitude towards each other when they’re in a small group making it easier to direct them towards what I want them to do.peace

  5. edifice rex said,

    February 13, 2009 at 8:31 PM

    I don’t know about the “little guy” label! He looks pretty big to me! But very loving.

  6. Woody said,

    February 14, 2009 at 5:00 AM

    Annie…We have them in graduated size now. Cody being the super-size. He is a tall one but quite thin right now. I’m sure we’ll fill him out a little…peace


Leave a Reply

