To Do

I wanted to get a little bit of a list going for this springs projects.

Re-cap the fire pit: I borrowed the capstone from the ring to use in our hearth. We had a zero clearance fireplace unit that we replaced with a soapstone stove. I needed to extend the hearth pad out another 18″ in front of the new stove per fire safety/insurance requirements. The zero clearance was useless for anything but a pretty fire. A couple of years ago we were hit with an ice storm and power outage that lasted for a week. Camping in the living room in front of the fire place and closing off the rest of the house to contain the fires heat the temperature still dropped about seven degrees a day. That was with keeping a blazing fire going night and day.


Since adding the wood stove everyone is happy except the propane company and we won’t be hurting for heat if the power fails.


Move the treehouse: Katy’s tree that was host to her house was struck by lightening two years ago. The poor old guy was literally boiled to death. After dropping most of the tree this summer I want to move the house further back into the woods. Keeping the house on the ground I’d like to make a cool little campsite with the house and deck as its feature. Maybe another smaller fire pit too.

Add on the coop: I need the space more than the birds do. We’ve stored the pig feed in the coop the last few years. I’m not crazy about having to clean chicken crap off the feed sacks before handling. Plus chicken poop is so caustic that it will eat through the feed sack to the point that they will bust wide open when handled. I don’t like to waste feed. The additional room will also make a nice storage area for garden tools and open up a little more room in the existing coop because I’ll move their feed storage cans into the addition. Hopefully this will help in keeping everything that is poultry a little less crap covered.

Build a wood shed: A run-in type shed to keep our wood, saws and splitting tools in one spot. I spend more time getting my tools together than using them.

Plant new trees and nursery beds: We have ordered several new fruit trees from Stark Brothers and another mess of yearling trees from the Missouri Department of Conservation Nursery in Licking. The young trees from MDC will do much better if we put them in nursery beds for a year. I’ve planted trees straight from MDC and some that we held for a year with those held out having a much higher survival rate. The trees from MDC come in bundles of 25. Depending on what species the cost runs from $4 to $14 per bundle. At that cost the additional time in our nursery beds is well worth the effort when held in comparison to commercial nursery prices of young trees.

Keep an up to date garden journal: I just suck at keeping garden records. Sitting down to jot notes about what I’m doing while I’m in the middle of doing it just doesn’t work well for me. If I try to plan ahead and chart out what and where I’m planting something I deviate from the plan, so what good is it. Then worst of all I’ll forget to write down what it was I changed because my forgetter works better than my rememberer.


I hadn’t posted any photos of the unfinished greenhouse. I still need to run the metal along the knee wall on the front side. For now I have plastic running along two-thirds of its length.

My favorite basketball player in the universe showed up for a pregame autograph session at our house last weekend. She plays a tenacious defense and has really improved her ball handling skills. If she keeps hard at it she will prove to be a great little point guard.


I just couldn’t help myself posting this last photo in honor of Annie at Edifice Rex and her disappearing railroad related posts. This is what I have to look at when the sun comes up over my job site.

13 Comments

  1. edifice rex said,

    January 25, 2009 at 8:03 AM

    AH! I love that photo Woody! Man, that brings back memories. That’s a big To Do list! Good luck with it. Your greenhouse looks great and what a great treehouse for Katie. we had one when I was a kid, of course, we had to build it ourselves and let’s just say the structure was umm, questionable. It’s a thousand wonders it didn’t collapse and kill us all.

  2. edifice rex said,

    January 25, 2009 at 9:11 AM

    Oh, I forgot…smartypants! 😉 lol!

  3. January 27, 2009 at 5:51 AM

    your greenhouse looks really cool! i like the design. your homestead looks like a peaceful place to do a walkabout the yard. that’s one of my favorite things to do at our place as well.

  4. Don said,

    January 27, 2009 at 1:26 PM

    Your place looks really nice! I love the greenhouse and the plans for the treehouse. You are doing thigns the right way. Congratulations! I am thinking about raising a couple of pigs soon. Where and how do go about buying piglets?

  5. Woody said,

    January 27, 2009 at 3:29 PM

    Annie..I thought you might get a kick outta that. As for the todo list, most of it is fixing or finishing stuff I've already started. PB & D..Thank you. I'm most proud that almost everything is salvaged.Don..Thanks for the kind words. Finding a couple of feeder pigs should be easy. Off the top of my head your best bet might be to ask any of your kids if they are in 4H and work off of their contacts. Check the feed store bulletin board or computer bulletin boards/classifieds.peace

  6. January 28, 2009 at 7:47 PM

    Woody, thanks for all the pics man. I love the stove and the greenhouse. Gonna have to re work my green house as soon as the crazy weather breaks. HAHA!! Edifice Rex is gonna love the train pic, she’s just too cool !!Chris

  7. January 29, 2009 at 5:35 AM

    Woody, where is the snow?

  8. Disco said,

    January 29, 2009 at 12:16 PM

    Just visited Frisco’s website. Great job! I was unaware that Ed played the piano, page 1, pic 9. Hope your car makes it. Hi Theresa and Katie!

  9. karl said,

    January 31, 2009 at 6:47 AM

    i guess i should follow suit and get my spring list together. i really like your wood stove. the thermal mass is such an added bonus. i’m jealous of your green house. i have been eying trees for a tree house. the inspiration is still missing.

  10. Woody said,

    January 31, 2009 at 7:01 AM

    Chris..hope ya’ll didn’t get hit too bad with the ice. You’re absolutely right; I think Annie’s great.G.Travis…It’s there. I’ve been moving it instead of taking pictures of it. Hopefully I’ll oblige today before it turns to slush.Disco..Disco…DiscoKarl..I was amazed that the stock tank didn’t have the ice in it that I assumed would be there. Fortunately the cheap plastic held through the ice and snow.I saw an awesome picture of a sphere shaped treehouse suspended with cable against a tree. I just can’t remember if it was sent to my email or I found it on a website. My mind is like a steel trap…rusty.peace

  11. Chase Davis said,

    February 13, 2009 at 11:06 PM

    I have some trees from the MDC Nursery, when I worked for the state fruit experiment station we sent some elderberry seeds there and I delivered them.

  12. March 1, 2009 at 7:51 AM

    Hey there — I’m here by way of Annie. Your to-do list looks a lot like ours. I’m really eyeing that greenhouse…. Oh, and I love the face being made in your most recent post — I used to make that very face when I was a kid.

  13. Woody said,

    March 2, 2009 at 4:31 AM

    peapie..got a whole $206 wrapped up in the greenhouse. Just about everything is re-used or salvaged but a bucket of screws, some hinges and a sheet of plastic. The lumber is a culled bundle I bought and used much of it for our raised beds.She sure had fun hamming it up with her cousins. It’s nice to see kids playing with each other instead of having their heads buried in a video game.peace


Leave a Reply

