Winter stroll

I’ve finally gone digital. It was a pain in the arse to try and take pictures for a post in a timely matter. I would have to shoot a whole roll of film or wait till we had finished a roll with a nieces birthday or Christmas to post photos about tomatoes in an August garden.

It won’t be very long before we’ll be having these raised beds filled with the hopes of another bountiful garden harvest.

I had moved our raspberries down to the fence line last week. We have two varieties of raspberries and I couldn’t tell you what they were if my life depended on it. They had started to intermingle the last two years so a thinning and extension of their rows was in order.


Our bean arches are poised for planting. This was the best garden idea I ever stole from Karl. We will never do pole beans without cattle panel arches.


The dogwoods are just waiting for their time to bust open. It won’t be too much longer till we’re enjoying their blooms.


Biscuit is my constant companion on any walk or garden work. She is a blue heeler/golden retriever mix that has been a true blessing for us. I think she is getting up around five years old hence the touch of gray tipping her muzzle.


Our chickens are laying well so I’ve been on guard for another massacre. I’ve strung deer netting over the top of the run and installed a spring to the gate on the run. Hopefully that will help to keep gates closed. I’ll be happy if we can make it to spring without a bout of canine carnage. With the loss of nearly 100 birds over the last three years I’m figuring that our cost per egg is around $6. If you’d like to be the first in your county to buy a dozen eggs at $72 give me a shout and I’d be happy to deliver.

11 Comments

  1. karl said,

    January 13, 2009 at 5:53 AM

    thanks for the credit on the cattle panels–although it seems everyone around here uses that technology. i’m happy to pass it along though. we have six of those brahma hens. we love them. it is exciting thinking about the spring planting season.

  2. Kush said,

    January 13, 2009 at 6:21 AM

    Glad to hear that the chixs are laying well, and I will keep my fingers crossed that the dogs don’t get them. I have a feeling that Danielle is going to want me to put up some of those cattle panel trellises this spring.Kush

  3. Woody said,

    January 13, 2009 at 6:55 AM

    Karl..no..no..thank you. The arches have made my bean pickin life much easier. Is it obvious that I’m ready to play in the dirt?Jim..I thought I had all the security that a chicken required the last massacre…we shall see.

  4. Ed Abbey said,

    January 13, 2009 at 7:01 AM

    With six inches of snow and the morning temp on my way to work hovering at minus eight, spring and gardens seems so far away right now. I’m hoping for an early spring so send up any extra warmth and sunshine you have.

  5. Woody said,

    January 13, 2009 at 7:40 AM

    Ed..We’re not too far off your temps today, less the snow. Hopefully this will be the last arctic blast(we can only hope)peace

  6. Pablo said,

    January 16, 2009 at 6:10 AM

    Biscuit is a fine looking dog!

  7. edifice rex said,

    January 24, 2009 at 6:20 PM

    So, since you’ve gone digital that means more frequent posting, riiiight? ;)Walter over at Sugar Mtn. posted about teaching dogs to avoid chickens by hot wiring a dead chicken and dangling it from a post. The dog grabs it and zappo! they don’t like chickens anymore. I don’t know if you would even want to try that but…

  8. Woody said,

    January 27, 2009 at 3:48 PM

    Pablo…Thanks she is a sweet girl.Annie..Yup. I already caught myself walking around for this post taking pictures in the cold when I should have been in front of the woodstove with a book on what to do with the green house.peace

  9. Sissy T. said,

    January 29, 2009 at 9:13 PM

    Loved your post about the eggs; cracked me up. BTW, how much will a dozen cost me w/added delivery charges – you do realize that the cost of gas is starting back up real fast.Re: cattle panels : how about sending me directions to make them and can a worn out old woman do them on her own? I sure could use a good mess of fresh beans;yummy good.

  10. Woody said,

    February 2, 2009 at 12:03 AM

    Sissy..keeping our chickens alive long enough to get fresh eggs has been a bit of a fiasco around here.The toughest part about getting the cattle panels into arches would be their awkwardness due to their dimensions. They are 4’x16’maybe weighing 30 pounds. I’m sure you could handle them but another pair of hands is nice.

  11. February 18, 2009 at 9:58 PM

    LOL! I hear ya with the eggs, ain’t that the truth! Love those bean poles, I’m going to have to rig up something similar, they just look too beautiful in your photos. cheers,HDR


Leave a Reply

