wow

I’m trying hard to look for the silver lining in all that has occurred in the last few years. It seems that most of the population of this great nation have become so complacent in regards to what we will accept from our leaders. On one hand I’m thrilled that enough of us screamed loud enough and long enough that some of the elected officials heard our displeasure. To think that we would be offering a bail out to a bunch of greedy losers that want to socialize their losses but privatize their gains. The other hand is clinched in a fist of nervous energy.

Well…I can’t predict the future. I do know that I’m better prepared for harder times than many. That really doesn’t make me feel any better. I get angry when I think back to the advice our President gave us the day after 9/11 to go on out and shop. What a missed opportunity to bring on a firestorm of positive change to our position in the world. How would our future have been different today if Bush had urged us all to begin a journey towards energy independence as a way to combat terrorism. Can you just imagine the excitement and dedication that this nation would have produced from the collective efforts of our people joined in a truly patriotic undertaking? Instead he says…Hey, go to the mall and buy something nice for yourself.

I mean people would have been ready to do just about anything had our leaders been focused on a true course of action instead of slamming us with a color coded status level of terror and telling us to get our duct tape and plastic ready. Our world would surely be so different. It makes my head swim when I think about how many ways this world and the events of our most recent history would have been transformed. I think about the efforts of our mothers and fathers during the second world war. The victory gardens, scrap metal drives and so many other drives for the procurement of needed supplies for the war effort. It was the thing to do. It was our existence and survival as a nation and a way for those at home to help protect, in some small way, those in battle.

Now we have another potential disaster looming on the near horizon. People don’t know which way to turn. Our national leaders seem clueless on what an appropriate course of action is. I have a hard time placing any faith in what I’m being told by anyone other than the memory of old sermons that I recall about a bird not worrying about where it will get its next meal. I know what I’m going to do. I’m going to get up in the morning, put on my britches and go to work.

I usually don’t post anything political on this blog because it is really a journal and a way to keep the left coast family up to speed on our little spit of the world. As you can see the fly has spoiled the ointment and caused my head to rupture with my share of unsolicited opinion on the politicos.

You see I live in a very conservative area. The biggest concerns are firearms, abortion and anything that has to do with destruction of donkeys, except if it is hitched to a cart. I swear that there were more W stickers on vehicles around here than any place not called Crawford Texas. It is very unpopular among most of the populous in our county to be a Democrat and even more unpopular if you would have the audacity to support a black guy running for office. I’m not trying to lump everyone that leans right into the mold of a conservative bigot. I’m just saying that if I threw a water balloon into a crowd around here there wouldn’t be too many wet liberals.

My only hope in regards to the positive effects that the last eight years have had on this nation is for our citizens to be more involved with the process. Not standing back and saying that it doesn’t matter. Because it does. Just look at the shape we’re in. We got here because we had it so good that we would overlook and even reward mediocrity and incompetence. A whole lot of people, including myself got all bent outta shape about a comment made by Phil Gramm calling us whiners. Maybe his words were very prophetic. At least now we all have something a little more substantial to whine about.

Then last night I see McCain with Sarah on the couch with Katie Couric interviewing her AGAIN. My first thought was she had come back to the principals office with her daddy to set the mean ol’ school administrator on the right path. Then it really hit my like a load of bricks that if McCain can’t run a campaign how in the hell could he even think of running the mess this country is in. What has this guy bought into from the advisers around him. The upside is that if Saturday Night Live needs any new writers this season they need not look to far past the McCain staff because these guys are friggin’ funny.

Anyway I could keep whining but I will just add that I’ve already made up my mind on who I will vote for in November. I’m going for the half black/half white guy that graduated from Harvard and has the smarts to run a campaign that doesn’t stutter and stammer across the country. I haven’t meet anyone that I agree with on all points but this Obama guy seems to have enough on the ball to walk and chew gum. If any of the bigots have a problem with me voting for Obama I’ll just tell’m I’m voting for the white half.

I almost forgot…where was McCains friggin lapel pin that all his goons made such a roar about.

Lord…save us from ourselves.

6 Comments

  1. pablo said,

    October 2, 2008 at 5:03 PM

    I figure with this election we have the choice between making history, or repeating it. I’m voting for Senator Obama.

  2. Woody said,

    October 2, 2008 at 11:37 PM

    After watching Palin I realized how much one can learn at a week of debate camp…maybe she should have stayed for two.

  3. Ron said,

    October 3, 2008 at 2:15 AM

    Hehe, yeah, Palin did pretty good after debate camp. Not good enough, but better.I can’t vote for any of them. I just can’t. What I feel is a decent path forward is so different than either party’s plan that there is no point. Tis good to be prepared for harder times. I think it is inevitable that the economy will shrink drastically… and there will be lots of desperation. Time will tell. I’m glad I’ve met you… nice to know that there are others like us. :)Ron

  4. FranIAm said,

    October 3, 2008 at 3:49 PM

    What a great blog- thanks for stopping by mine and I will be back here again!

  5. October 5, 2008 at 7:49 AM

    Well, Tulsa is pretty conservative but I am very heartened to see all the Obama/Biden signs especially in unexpected places, like the ritzier neighborhoods around Utica Square. Now if we could only do something about Inhofe.Thanks for stopping by my House and putting me on your blogroll. I don’t know how you found me, but I have returned the favor!

  6. Woody said,

    October 6, 2008 at 11:34 PM

    Ron…I don’t understand the notion that she could accept an invitation to a debate and not answer the presented questions. It amounted to a free infomercial for the talking points that she kept regurgitating. I feel I must vote. Even though I’m not thrilled with the choices I feel that for me not to participate would only cause us to whittle our choices down even worse. I feel that if smart people like you aren’t in the equation that the choices will dumb down (i.e. palin) even worse than now.Being prepared for a rocky road is a damn good thing. I think it is funny that we became better prepared as a result of an ice storm…not a financial one.I’m damn glad that we meet too. One of these days we need to share that fire to sit, spit and lie.Franiam…Thanks and I will be a return customer at your blog as well.Burning Prairie…I’ve seen two Obama yard signs in this county. I can’t remember how I found ya’ll but happy that I did. Peace


Leave a Reply

