Skunked

Last night I was watching a little of the DNC before heading into work, when the unmistakable odor of a skunk wafted in from the direction of the front porch. It was distant but growing stronger. Then my brain kicked into replay of the last few moments before that nasty, best left behind you at 60 mph on the highway, smell came to me. Our dogs had bolted off the porch as they often do to confront the bumps of the night; coyotes, dogs, deer…you get my drift. They found themselves face to the business end of a skunk.

This isn’t the first time one of our mutts has decided to play with a skunk.

A couple of years ago my old dog Woody got a hold of a skunk in our garage. Woody was probably just defending his home and feeder from an unwelcome advance of an ugly cat. His eyes weren’t so good because of his advanced age and he most likely had a case of canine Alzheimer’s.

Woody jumped in with all four paws and thrashed that skunk about like a rag doll. The musk marks were still visible on the drywall till I painted a year later. Theresa was lucky enough to be trying to exit the house, with Katy in tow, for work. She calls me hysterical about the dilemma. She couldn’t get out of the house because of the stinking fight in the garage and the congregation of skunked dogs on the front porch who had given up their front row seats to the rumble.

The second call was that Woody had released the skunk but left its lifeless carcass in the garage.

The third call was that the skunk(now referred to as Lazarus) was not dead after all. He was stumbling around the perimeter of the house no doubt trying to find a nice hole to crawl in to. The dogs were also trying to find a place of retreat and safety so every time that Theresa made an attempt to get out of the house the dogs were wanting in.

All this was going down while I was safely 100 miles away sitting in the cab of an air conditioned locomotive with a gaseous conductor. All I could do for her was not laugh too hard on the phone.

Well I do believe that karma happens!

Biscuit got the most of a full face shot. She came back to the house in search of some compassion for the predicament she got herself in only to be greeted with a slamming of the front door.

Well… I’ll just try the back door, she thought. A much longer journey for her than me. Slam!

So…I spent the day with three smelly dogs in need of a special bath. The combination of hydrogen peroxide, dawn dish soap and baking soda works miracles.

A one time application of this combination mixed to the consistency of a thin pancake batter will do the trick. It is a shampoo that does knock the smell right off the coat. That is what I get for laughing at my wife some years ago. Revenge is best served cold.

4 Comments

  1. Ed Abbey said,

    August 29, 2008 at 7:21 AM

    Dogs. My dog Ted has his share of skunk fights and never seemed to learn. I wish I knew about your tonic back when he was alive. He spent a lot of his life banished to the outside until the smell wore off.

  2. Woody said,

    August 30, 2008 at 4:59 AM

    Ed..that is damned funny. It never crossed my mind what someones reaction would be if they were from a part of the world that was skunk free.The tonic is a recipe from our conservation department agent. Peace

  3. Ron said,

    September 2, 2008 at 10:06 PM

    Ha! Hahaha! Lazarus? That is dang funny. I can only imagine what calls I would receive should something like that transpire while I was away. :)We’ve smelled skunk around here, but fortunately it was always a scuffle in the woods, and not with Diego or nearby. They sure can stink. :)Ron

  4. Country Girl said,

    September 8, 2008 at 9:52 PM

    Isn’t that smell incredible! Callie was skunked this year too.


Leave a Reply

