August


It is about time I posted some new garden pics. I have to admit that after a very slow and somewhat disappointing start this spring the whole effort is starting to be rewarded. Our canning has become an all week thing. Yesterday I started a five gallon crock of dill pickles while Theresa canned more green beans. I have no idea how many quarts we have put up so far but we have dug out boxes of jars that went unused last year.

Last night we ate the first of our sweet corn. I had said that as late as the corn went in we wouldn’t have any till September. I wasn’t too far off on that call.

The last week has been spent cleaning out spent beds, adding compost and replanting for the fall. Hopefully we can put a new skin on the greenhouse this week. I still haven’t been able to convince Theresa that the clear corrugated panels would be the way to go. A little pricey but we wouldn’t be wrestling with a new skin.









9 Comments

  1. Kush said,

    August 25, 2008 at 11:19 AM

    Love the picture of the kids in the tractor scoop. Almost seems to be overloading that little tractor. Gardens look great!Kush

  2. Sandy said,

    August 25, 2008 at 12:51 PM

    I would love to have a garden like that. How beautiful!Are those hanging gourds in the first pic? I tried that once….got as far as putting the cattle panels up and then we moved. Now I don’t have the space or the sun to put out a garden.Someday…..

  3. Ed Abbey said,

    August 25, 2008 at 2:31 PM

    Bountiful!

  4. Danielle said,

    August 26, 2008 at 11:37 AM

    Gosh, ya’ll look so homey and picture perfect. The beds look beautiful, and the harvest looks gorgeous all laid out on the window seat with even a porch swing in the background. Sheesh, talk about storybook.

  5. Woody said,

    August 26, 2008 at 4:38 PM

    Kush..It’s a load alright.Sandy..That would be the greenbeans. The arches make the picking so much easier.Ed..thanksDanielle..Homey…lol Storybook? Now that really gets my belly fat jiggling…

  6. Nita said,

    August 26, 2008 at 9:51 PM

    Wow, no wonder you haven’t been posting – your garden looks great! Everyone keeps predicting a bad winter, I guess you guys will be ready.Love the pics.

  7. Ron said,

    August 27, 2008 at 11:19 PM

    I love your photos, Woody. That greenhouse looks pretty awesome… one of these days I’m gonna get serious about one of them. Saw a bunch of warped lumber at the lumberyard tonight. :)Your harvest does look beautiful. That’s a beauty of a pumpkin!I imagine the panels would last a long time?peace (bout time I wished that on ya :))Ron

  8. edifice rex said,

    August 28, 2008 at 5:49 PM

    Wow! Your yard and gardens are so nice and NEAT! Really looks good. Good to finally see a post from you. 😉

  9. Woody said,

    August 30, 2008 at 4:55 AM

    Nita…thanks. We have been canning and canning and canning. I’ve heard and read the same on winter predictions. I’m never ready for winter…Ron…the greenhouse is a project that I have to say is best described as an experiment. I keep running into new stashes of re-usable materials that will change the end design. The roof panels however will remain the same if I can talk the frugal one into the expense. The damned squash bugs are just awful on the pumpkins this year. Next season my OCD efforts will be squarely centered on a full out squash bug assault.Glad to see that peace thing spreading locally….Annie..Thanks to the tree trimming contractors for the electric co-op. The loads of chips they have dumped here have really helped to keep the garden paths weed free. It is good to be seen…Peace


Leave a Reply

