HOT

It’s a hot one today! We got out early and pick a couple of 5 gallon buckets of green beans for canning and pulled the rest of the cosmic purple carrots. I’m truly excited about the carrots this year. I have had miserable results from previous plantings. This years is the first that I wouldn’t want to toss immediately into the compost pile.

We had a great weekend in Arkansas with our friends Linda ( aka. Willie) and Rob. We spent the time at Willie’s moms beautiful home on Beaver Lake bobbing like corks in the flood stage waters of the lake. Her mother, Peggy and her husband Larry are a lot of fun to hang out with and are wonderful hosts.

Larry is an Arkansas master gardener and a absolute fountain of information on gardening, especially when raised bed, square foot gardening are concerned. I have seen people that are really into their gardening…. but Larry is REALLY into his gardening. His tomato plants were well over 6 feet tall drooping over the top of concrete reinforcement wire cages. The stem bases of these plants are so stout that I couldn’t touch finger to thumb around them. He has more production from his 1/100 of an acre than I get from my 1/2 acre efforts and he does it without throwing all sorts of chemical crap all over everything.

The way home we stopped at Baker Creek Heirloom Seed Company on the fringes of Mansfield Missouri. They had a garden show Sunday. It was unfortunately hotter than hell on Sunday. As we made our way towards Mansfield we passed to separate bank time/temperature displays broadcasting 105 wonderful southern Missouri humidity laced degrees. It made our visit a quick one to say the least.

I really felt sorry for the vendors in their period clothing sticking it out on such a miserable day. Luckily this hot streak doesn’t look like it will be a long one.

4 Comments

  1. Ed Abbey said,

    August 5, 2008 at 8:38 AM

    Next year I am going to have to build some tomato cages. My cheapos this year couldn’t handle my tall leggy tomato plants which are/were probably five feet tall. I’ve had to resort to tying the cages to fence posts.

  2. Country Girl said,

    August 11, 2008 at 7:30 PM

    Those carrots sounds cool. Did you plant a lot? How do you store them?~Kim

  3. Woody said,

    August 12, 2008 at 4:49 AM

    Ed..me too. I didn’t like using the cattle panels this year. It just isn’t in the tomato’s nature to fan out on a panel and I believe I have had more sun scald.Kim..They were/are very cool. They important part to me is that they were tasty too. We planted a 4×4 section in a raised bed and I bagged and froze 6 gallon freezer bags stuffed full. We ate a lot both cooked and Theresa used them in her salads. They sure do add a mess of color in an unexpected form.peace

  4. zilla said,

    October 4, 2008 at 6:35 AM

    Found it!I’ve never been able to grow carrots larger than those little sawed-off pencils used to score mini golf. More often than not, they were closer to the size of golf tees.We’re hoping to have time to install layered raised beds this fall, in FRONT of our within city-limits house. Hoping — most of my days are taken up volunteering at the campaign office, and our frost date is almost upon us.I think one benefit of these volatile economic times could be the return of the “victory garden,” and enjoyment of renewed frugality.


Leave a Reply

