Garden news and dealing with crappy stuff…


I only wish I had a digital camera so that I could provide some of the wonderful shots ya’ll post on your blogs. I feel pretty dumb when I post an update on garden progress when I’m out cutting wood and leaf wrangling for the compost piles in late October. I’ve cheated and used a previously posted picture of this years growth. The only real difference in using the old photo is the addition of weeds. They are doing GREAT too.

We have been picking beans, peppers, tomato, squash, still getting blackberries and finishing up our peaches. Theresa has canned beets and peaches and some of the green beans with a whole lot more to come. We have put up a ton of New Zealand spinach in the freezer as well as beans, berries and squash. Eggplant, collards and all the herbs have done wonderfully with the rain we have been given. Our pumpkins, watermelon and tiger melon were all planted late but have started to set fruit and have thrown out a lot of new growth this last week. The sweet corn is only waist high, also a victim of late planting.

We have been fortunate enough to have a wonderful supply of moisture this year. The grass has stayed nice and green. It has grown and filled in many areas that have been in need of a little green. I planted timothy grass in some freshly cleared areas for pasture and it has just done great. The last few years the rain tap is shut off and everything begins to turn a nice crunchy brown. Not this year.

I wouldn’t normally whine about not having to keep water on the garden or mowing grass but there has been a little problem with my little tractor. It has been at the tractor hospital for a week or better. I miss her alot. In her absence I have started to mow the grass with push mower. I thought it would be a great idea to TEMPORARILY cut and bag the grass and use the clippings for a nice nitrogen boost and mulch. The first time I mowed it damn near killed me. I have been well on the way to packing on some extra weight the last few years. When I did my one and a half gainer off the horse and broke my pelvis I packed on a couple of years worth of belly lard in five months. Now this layer of back and belly fat is starting to fade and pushing a lawn mower through lush grass on our not so level ground has really started to melt the lumpy stuff off. It has become my workout. I even have put on my unused running shoes to mow.

Now is that finding a silver lining?

I can’t wait to get my little tractor back! I really miss her front loader. I miss her 60″ cutting swath compared to a 21″ push mower. I miss her comfy seat and cup holder.

We had a storm blow through last week. It took the greenhouse plastic off in an explosive tear. I was standing in the garage watching the trees bend when a clam shell shaped tear busted out on the west side of the house. It came apart with a loud pop. Like blowing up and slapping a paper bag. The plastic was free but I still hate to see my little projects get shreaded.

I think now I will start to look at putting the clear corrugated panels up instead off stretching another plastic skin. That was the plan; to eventually buck up for the panels and make the greenhouse a greenhouse. I took a lot of pride in putting the house up for $206.00. It was fun to find most of the material and reuse some commercial cast off crap to make something that would help to feed us. Who knows…I might find a new source of used panels.

We bought a new car this week. I broke down and finally purchased my first foreign made car (excluding the $200 rabbit that I bought when I lived in Nashville. It has to run to qualify for being a “first”)

I drive 154 miles a day round trip to my work. I’ve happily drove an 01′ Ford Focus for 264,000 miles with very few problems and it got about 34 miles to the gallon. It was a stripped down spartan version. No cruise, no power windows and an am/fm cassette stereo. Can you even buy cassettes anymore? Might as well have had an 8 track.

The little car preformed well but my lovely wife likes research and she determined that a Honda Civic would out preform the Focus. I’m not complaining here. The Honda is a great car. It has whistles and bells and even a dohicky to hook up an mp3 player. Now I guess I’ll need one of those. We have decided that I will drive the Honda and Big T will drive the Focus. She has been driving a Dodge Dakota for her 50 mile round trip to work. With our fuel bill being as high as another house payment we would hope to reduce our fuel usage. It is sad when a new car payment and an increase in insurance is a wash with the savings in fuel consumption.

I also have to mention that the second day of driving the new car to work I am passing a truck on the interstate when I hit a chunk of a blown out truck tire. With no place to go but through it, the crap damn near tore off the bumper cover. Luckily the dent popped out and the only real damage is a pencil size hole on the bottom side of the cover. The break-away plastic rivets that hold the cover up did as intended preventing the entire assembly from tearing away at the front end. The black marks rubbed out and my son-in-law is bringing out his rivet gun to replace the plastic rivets. If you didn’t know that I had hit something you couldn’t tell.

I just have a hard time buying a car from a Japanese car maker. I have tried to buy American products for a long, long time. I have been a good “union man”. I have tried to avoid buying stuff at Walmart and go with the local guy even when it is a little more expensive. I don’t like the idea of many of our nations manufacturing jobs being sent to other countries. I don’t like the fact that it is damn near impossible to find bib overalls made in the U.S.A. and not in USA China or assembled in Mexico with U.S. cotton.

I’m frustrated by the lack of American owned business doing business in America. There is little I can do about it. I’ll just turn over my five gallon pickle bucket that is embossed with a made in the USA label and enjoy a nice ice cold Budweiser….Ahhh crap!

6 Comments

  1. Ed Abbey said,

    August 1, 2008 at 9:38 AM

    I try to buy American too but cars are one thing that I haven’t bought “American” for a long time. American auto manufactures just don’t seem to get it when it comes to what I want in a vehicle. I love my ’98 Civic made in Indiana. I’m going to drive it until the wheels fall off and that doesn’t appear likely to happen anytime soon.

  2. August 1, 2008 at 5:36 PM

    Quality is hard to find now days at any price. My mom and dad have had hondas for years and they love them, never any trouble at all. I’ve had a few hondas in my time also, they just can’t be beat. Don’t feel to bad about buy forein cars, sometimes ya just gotta look out for NUMBER 1. Garden looks great as always. So neat and clean looking.Chris

  3. edifice rex said,

    August 1, 2008 at 5:45 PM

    Well, now so many “foreign” vehicles are made here in the US! The auto plant I just worked at for 2 weeks was Honda. But I know what you mean, it still burns the whololly crap out of me that some Levi’s are now made in Russia! and my beloved Wolverine boots made in @#$^$*!# China.

  4. Nita said,

    August 3, 2008 at 12:50 AM

    I hated to sell my Honda, I wish I had kept it now. It was a great car. We just went through the same thing, but ended up with a small Chevy pickup. So far, so good, the fuel savings almost make the payment, so that is a good thing. I’m still driving my old Binder though, it’s ugly but only has 60K. But, most of the time I can walk to move the cows, and we need it to haul wood etc.The garden looks great Woody – but that’s too bad about the greenhouse. It’s no fun to see it all blown apart no matter how much it costs.

  5. Country Girl said,

    August 3, 2008 at 6:57 PM

    I bet you could pick up a digital camera real cheap at a local pon shop.Thanks for stopping by my blog and leaving a comment Woody! You have lots of fruit, we are quite limited now but in the next couple years we should be getting some strawberries, blueberries, and apples.Fractured pelvis, yikes. Those darn horses, I’ve seen LOTS of bad injuries from horses as I work in the ED. Greenhouse, that is on my I want list.Love how you talk about your tractor, sounds like something my husband might say!~Kim

  6. Candylei said,

    August 23, 2008 at 10:16 PM

    What a beautiful garden!


Leave a Reply

