busy busy

It’s fair week!

Katy and I spent a couple of long nights together getting her project record books finished. She is so excited about this year being her first to sell her hog in the auction. It was the one part of the fair last year that she had to watch and not participate in because she was in the pee wee class. Well this year she is in with the bigger kids and she couldn’t be happier.

Her Uncle John and Aunt Jenny loaned us the use of their new camper for the week. A very generous offer in my book. There is nothing better than being able to sneak away to the camper for a break from the heat and crowds. AC, a shower and a nap keep dad happy.

I spent yesterday between the hog barn helping to install the spiglets and repairing leaks and building a cage stand for Katy’s poultry entries. She made an executive decision concerning her birds Thursday night. The Black Australorp hen, previously known as Austradork, will now be named Lauren in honor of her cousin who recently returned from a trip to Australia. Lucky Lauren. Thankfully her pigs are quite happy with their names.

This morning I picked up our friends horse trailer to load the pigs. If you have read this blog for awhile you might recall my adventures with loading last years hogs.

Well this mornings attempt was absolutely amazing. I positioned the trailer off of a corner of the pen so that I could either use the slider or open the whole swing gate off the rear of the trailer. I only had to un-wire one panel and move it over to the opposite side of the trailer. I was thinking that I would just leave the trailer in position so the pigs could get used to it being there before I would have to run them in. After I had all the adjustments made to the panel and everything secured I opened the door to the trailer and BOTH of them hopped in like they were just going for a ride to the park.

That is where they will be going in the a.m. I feel that Katy has a real good chance to win rate of gain, having seen some of her competition. Ya’ll wish her the best of luck.

The photo updates of fair activities will be updated with my first opportunity after the fair

Theresa will be heading to California this week due to the passing of her Uncle Joe. He fought a long battle with cancer. He was a very kind and warm hearted man that I truly feel honored to have known. He will be missed by us all.

6 Comments

  1. Ed Abbey said,

    July 15, 2008 at 6:31 AM

    For some reason, I was probably the only farm kid who never was in 4H. I don’t know how or why.

  2. Nita said,

    July 15, 2008 at 2:38 PM

    Love reading about Katy’s progress with her 4-H projects. It’s good she has something to occupy her mind after Stan’s untimely passing.Can’t wait to see pics and BTW don’t get too comfy in that camper!Best of luck Katy!!

  3. July 15, 2008 at 11:16 PM

    Good Luck Katy !! Having a dad that takes that much interest in your sucess, I’d say you already have all the luck you need. Can’t wait to get my Katie in 4-H.Chris

  4. edifice rex said,

    July 17, 2008 at 5:11 PM

    Best luck Katy! You go girl! I agree with Chris, having a father that interested in her activites is better than any amount of luck.

  5. Ron said,

    July 17, 2008 at 10:25 PM

    What a great experience for Katy!Sounds like it will be good for you too, with that AC and relief from the crowds. šŸ™‚ I can’t wait to see the pics either!Ron

  6. karl said,

    July 20, 2008 at 8:09 AM

    we need photos;)


Leave a Reply

