Still sucking air

Chris from Johnson Family Farm asked if I were still alive on my previous post.

We have been working our tails off at home and on the job of late. I usually don’t work much overtime on the railroad by choice. With the flooding along the Mississippi there have been major disruptions in rail traffic. Our system has had an overload of detour trains that has caused our local customers delay to their shipments. It is pretty common for a pattern disruption to send its shock wave through rail systems from coast to coast. I recall the longshoreman’s strike a couple of years ago having a lasting effect on mid-west operations rather quickly.

As for the home front.

After working 12 hours on the choo choo and my ridiculous 154 mile a day commute, I really don’t feel like doing much in the garden. Especially when the temps and humidity start climbing into the 90’s. All I want to do is crawl into the sack and forget about all the weeds calling me out for a rumble. Minor little things that I would normally ignore tend to send me into a hat waving frenzy.

Gnats…

flying around my eyes, nose and ears.

I’m much nicer to all of Gods creatures after a nice long uninterrupted nap.

I play nicer then.

7 Comments

  1. hillbilly2be said,

    June 28, 2008 at 3:33 PM

    This comment has been removed by the author.

  2. June 28, 2008 at 11:02 PM

    Woody, glad to hear you’re still sucking air. haha!! Just wondering what had happend to ya. Sorry to hear your butts draggin. With that commute it’s a wonder you get anything done, I’m sure that garden can wait. Hope it all slows down for you soon so you can enjoy yourself.Take careChris

  3. Nita said,

    June 29, 2008 at 7:46 AM

    Glad to hear your still kicking! I thought you floated away in a fllod or drove your train up here and derailed it the other day. Do you make that drive every day?Scavenger is right the garden will be what it is, you have to do each day what you are able to do – sometimes that is just get some rest.

  4. Ed Abbey said,

    June 30, 2008 at 6:49 AM

    I thought you might have been the engineer that road the train down into the water when the bridge collapsed up near Columbus Junction, Iowa. But at a party this weekend, I learned who that engineer was and lives which ruled you out. Glad to hear that you haven’t kicked the oxygen habit just yet!

  5. edifice rex said,

    June 30, 2008 at 5:06 PM

    Know what you mean about overtime and not feeling much like working after work! Hope things slow down for you soon.

  6. Kush said,

    July 1, 2008 at 4:52 AM

    Just remember the gardens will be there when you have the time and energy to deal with them. Thanks for keeping the trains running, I think we need them now more than ever.

  7. Woody said,

    July 2, 2008 at 1:35 AM

    Ron…at least the detours aren’t as bad as 93′. That was a real mess. I think our collective moans over high humidity have been heard. It was downright pleasant today.Chris..Sometimes the commute is the only time I have to myself..is that making lemonade?Nita..5 days a week…less if I can get away with it. I still firmly believe that work is over rated.Ed…There ain’t no way I’ll run a train where I can’t see rail. I read a bit on this story. Glad to hear the engineer is doing alright.Annie..what good is the extra cash if I’m dead..lolKush..I dream of a day when I can take the train to work on the railroad. I sure hope that MAJOR investments are made in upgrade and expansion of rail routes. It is definitely more cost effective than trucking for the long haul.


Leave a Reply

