Vacation updates

This has truly been a trip of firsts.

I have no idea if my Mother in law is ill or if she just knocked her head on the nightstand getting out of bed but she has somehow changed. For as long as I’ve been around this family there has sat a 1977 Corvette in her garage that has, to the best of my knowledge, not moved. I believe that she hired David Copperfield to teleport it when she moved to her new home.

Yesterday I had asked her to make a wish list of odd jobs that she would like to have done while I’m here. Install a new garbage disposal, change some light bulbs, fix a screen door and drop a new battery in the Vette.

Huhh…Vette…

So off we went to the hardware and auto parts store to purchase the appropriate supplies to knock out her punch list. It only took a short time to finish all of the above with the exception of the battery for the car. My Mother in law has a fine hammer, standard screwdriver, philips screwdriver and a pair of pliers. Any mention of a socket set only draws a blank stare of ignorance as to what that might be. Luckily the cousins live close and have tools and they still answer their cell phones when called for assistance.

With the proper tools in hand we had a fresh battery dropped in and the old short block was ready to rumble…I hoped. I have no idea how long the car has sat or if the fuel had turned to a brick of varnish.

The Vette did start.

Then miracle of miracles, she gave me the nod of approval for a test run. Granted with restrictions. Not faster than 5 mph and for 1 block.

We washed the thick layer of desert off of her and re inflated her tires. Then under the nervous stare of MMIL (my mother in law) my lovely wife and I cruised the neighborhood streets hitting a top speed of 30 mph between the speed bumps. Theresa recalling when she would “steal” the car to drive around the mall when she wasn’t old enough to drive. Me, still in disbelief that MMIL would allow me to drive her baby.

We turned the corner heading back to MMIL’s house when we spot the law sitting at the end of the street in front of her house. I couldn’t believe that she would have called the police when we had been gone for less than 20 minutes, or even that she would have felt the need to call them at all. Both of our hearts flew into our throats as we saw the police cruiser. My wife was surely having flashbacks to her juvenile joy rides. I was trying to put on a seat belt that hasn’t worked in years and trying to remember if I have any outstanding warrants for unpaid parking tickets in Atlanta.

As the officer drives by we give him the “hi…I’m not guilty of anything” nervous wave that probably sends chills up his spine thinking that he might have to pull over two armed, meth-heads out for a joy ride in a stolen Vette.

Funny what can run through your head.

MMIL didn’t call the law. I don’t have any outstanding warrants that I know of and neither one of us has done meth.

OH…I wasn’t armed either.

4 Comments

  1. Nita said,

    June 1, 2008 at 11:03 PM

    Different than driving a train Huh?You’re making me miss my 69 Z28!!Nice save on the family pics.

  2. hillbilly2be said,

    June 1, 2008 at 11:35 PM

    This comment has been removed by the author.

  3. Ed Abbey said,

    June 4, 2008 at 7:05 AM

    Funny how people keep cars like that hidden and stored away. I had a neighbor that kept a mint condition 1954 Farmall Super H in a shed that actually had a thirty year old sapling growing in front of the door so you couldn’t even get it out without cutting down the tree first. The rubber on the wheels looked brand new yet completely flat. (Our family has farmed his farm for him since the 50’s and I peeked through a hole in the barn boards once.) He died last fall and the last time I went by his place I saw that the tree is gone along with the tractor. I always wonder what became of it. I’m sure it made some collector very happy.

  4. June 14, 2008 at 2:52 PM

    Hey Woody, thanks for the add man. I love the story about your MMIL’s Vette, if that were my MMIL’s vette she would have charged you to look at it. If a fly lands on her she thinks it should be paying rent. Everything in the world belongs to “Her”. Those are Her rocks and Her trees and her birds. The only thing that seems to be “ours” is the grass and weeds that need to be cut. haha!! I love the battles we have.


Leave a Reply

