Woods railroad

I normally shy away from having to ride a train at a tourist stop. I can think of a short list a mile long of tortures I would rather endure than ride on a miniature train.

This set up would be the exception to my disdain for the train. It is NOT a tourist attraction. This is a privately owned and operated labor of love by John Woods.

The attention to detail is unbelievable. The track loop is about five miles long with a working signal system and some controlled switches. The loop also includes a tunnel that was at least 800′ long.

He has five engines, one being an oil fired steam engine, all tucked nicely into a roundhouse complete with a miniature brick facade. I could not believe all the work that has been done on this property. The grading alone would run in the range of half a million easy. There was a beautiful brick depot building and several service buildings all as neat as a pin.

We were invited down by Mr. Woods to see his labor of love along with my parents and some of the staff from my brothers restaurant. I had to leave early to run a much larger and dirtier train. I’m sure Mr. woods would have loved to go along with me.



3 Comments

  1. Nita said,

    May 30, 2008 at 7:05 AM

    Nice set-up, my brother was into 1 lung engines, and his gas engine group had a couple of guys who were into the miniature trains. Amazing!

  2. Ed Abbey said,

    May 30, 2008 at 8:11 AM

    I’m absolutely floored! What a hobby!

  3. Woody said,

    May 31, 2008 at 6:15 AM

    nita..it was amazinged..I told my wife never to get on me again about my little hobbies/habits. With her mouth still in the hanging position she agreed. lol


Leave a Reply

