go west…for awhile

We have flown the coop. Yesterday we flew to Palm Springs California for a long overdue visit with my wifes side of the tree.

As is traditional, when we come out here we bring cooler wet weather. I couldn’t help myself laughing because as we headed into the baggage claim area of the airport we were misted with a light rain shower. We completed our weather transfer mission by depositing a tornado between Banning and Riverside. Now the argument that “at least we don’t have your midwest tornadoes” is all but blown out of the water. Add that to your repertoire of earthquake , mudslides, wild fires, sand storms, 120 degree heat and no rain or too much of it all at once.

The desert is a truly beautiful place. I have to admit that I really do get a case of the “Oh lookies” when we get to visit here. I do prefer the rolling green pasture and oak covered hills of our chunk of the Ozarks but this area is so damned pretty once you get away from the city. Any time you can have a background of mountains in the distance you’re ahead of the game.

The true nature of this visit is not to see family or escape bad weather back home. It isn’t even the overwhelming need to get away from work (I think I have the “away from work” quota filled for the next life time). The true reason is good Mexican cooking! I admit it.

My name is Woody…and I’m addicted to refries and corn tortillas. Fish tacos, ceviche, chorizo, chili verde whatever.

I also must admit that I enjoy the fact that smokers civil liberties are all but completely destroyed in this state. It is nice not to have to walk the butthead gauntlet outside of the restaurants coming or going.

And with that last comment I have officially become a totally reformed ex-smoker nazi.

* My Mother-in-law smokes and is very conscientious about where her smoke might drift, so the butthead comment doesn’t apply to her. That doesn’t sound too butt kissie does it?

5 Comments

  1. Ed Abbey said,

    May 23, 2008 at 7:59 AM

    I’m a member of MCA (Mexican Cooking Anonymous) too! Fortunately we have an excellent restaurant run by authentic mexicans just across town. Not sure if they are legal but as long as their food and service is good, I’m not telling.

  2. Nita said,

    May 23, 2008 at 11:57 AM

    Boy, you aren’t kidding about Mexican food – we love it too! The real stuff sure beats good ol redneck Taco Bell!Maybe my mom knew what she was doing when she named me Juanita – he he!!Have a good vacation and eat some good stuff for me.

  3. hillbilly2be said,

    May 23, 2008 at 8:27 PM

    This comment has been removed by the author.

  4. karl said,

    May 24, 2008 at 6:49 PM

    best fish taco in the world is in ocean beach san diego. the last restaurant on the left nearest the ocean. like no other fish taco in the world.best carne asada burrito is in pacific beach san diego the restaurant is a hole in the wall named los dos pedros. every time my best friend goes to san diego he calls me from there just to rub it in.

  5. edifice rex said,

    May 27, 2008 at 4:56 PM

    OOh, tamales! the little town that I live in actually has quite an Hispanic population and thwerefore some wonderful food.Glad to see (read) you back Woody!


Leave a Reply

