building

I started to build our new greenhouse yesterday. Using my bundle of culled 2×6 lumber to stick frame its bones. Leveling out the footprint went so well. I mean I was damned lucky scraping a level pad with the front end loader. If someone had been watching me I wouldn’t have done such a fine job. Turns out I hit a pretty good mark the first lick with the blade and “eyed” level from the tractor seat. Dumb luck!

I framed my garage door panels, that were salvaged from the car wash, so they can be hinged and opened for ventilation. Placed them on top of a knee wall that runs the houses entire length and stands 24″ tall. I still haven’t decided on what to use for siding on the knee wall. I’m leaning towards using concrete fiber board. The lumberyard that I bought my culls from had a stack of moldy siding in the yard. I’m sure I could get them to drop it at the house for the delivery charge. It still makes me laugh that a lumberyard doesn’t store its stock out of the weather. Lucky for me.

Today I’ll try to design and build the trusses. One thing about working by yourself is I have to get creative with rigging. It isn’t like the trusses will be all that heavy when my feet a firmly planted but get to wiggling them around on their perch and it becomes a circus. I’ll have them propped up and tacked twenty times before I get it right. Good thing I’m not on a deadline.

I’ve taken some pictures of the process with my snail camera. It will be fun for me to “armchair quarterback” the job once I’m done smashing my thumb and tripping over the web of braces I had to use.

10 Comments

  1. karl said,

    April 18, 2008 at 5:52 AM

    i wanna live next to your lumberyard.

  2. nita said,

    April 18, 2008 at 9:41 PM

    I guess your backside must be healed up, just in time for all these projects on your list. The greenhouse sounds great.

  3. Woody said,

    April 19, 2008 at 12:15 AM

    karl…i don’t know how they have stayed in business.nita…i’m feeling pretty damn good most days. it still gets me down a little but the soreness passes quickly.

  4. hillbilly2be said,

    April 19, 2008 at 12:47 AM

    Yeah, my lumberyard at least covers the wood. Most of it, anyway. :)That greenhouse sounds really interesting! Trusses? How big is it going to be? Someday I’d like to create a more or less permanent greenhouse/hoop house around here… not sure yet, it’s all new to me.I can’t wait to see your pictures!Ron

  5. Woody said,

    April 19, 2008 at 6:04 AM

    ron…it’s 12’x24′. I have the plastic that i got off the bulkhead flat car to cover it but i wanted to design it for clear corrugated panels that i might install later. the plastic is white so it might not offer the results i’m looking for. hell..i don’t even know what i’m wanting to accomplish with this project. it would be nice to have greens through the winter.

  6. hillbilly2be said,

    April 19, 2008 at 3:18 PM

    Wow, Woody, that’s huge! I sure do know the “what the heck am I doing this project for?” feeling. 🙂 Green stuff would indeed be nice in winter. That thought is about as far as I’ve gotten towards the greenhouse project though.The nice thing is that, if it doesn’t work out, you’ve still got all kinds of usable scrap for round two, and you haven’t sunk $1500 into the venture. :)Ron

  7. edifice rex said,

    April 20, 2008 at 6:52 AM

    A friend of mine used the clear corrugated panels for a little porch greenhose and it is beautiful! Made me think about building such; like I don’t have enough going on.:( You be careful setting those trusses by yourself. They can be aggravating to manage.

  8. Woody said,

    April 22, 2008 at 5:20 AM

    Ron..I was taking a break looking at what was finished on this job and thinking about how much I had into it. 206.00 not counting the bucket of hex drive screws that I bought last year….not bad.Annie..Your comment rang in my ears as I was having a throw-down with the trusses in 20mph wind gusts. I wish I had this episode on video…lol

  9. Massagem said,

    April 22, 2008 at 1:33 PM

    This comment has been removed by a blog administrator.

  10. May 6, 2008 at 2:53 PM

    Good luck Woody. No matter what you end up growing in it it will taste good :-)Monica


Leave a Reply

