Fools Day

I am 45 today. I really don’t know what 45 is suppose to feel like but I’m pretty sure that it will all come in to focus (maybe). Feel free to insert any April Fools material at this juncture. I’ve heard most, but I always keep an open ear for new material.

We are gearing up for spring. A load of culled lumber has finally been delivered. All 2×6 stock in 10′ and 12′ lengths that I picked up for 66% off. Most of this 100 piece bundle is in very good shape. I have only found one board that is trash so far. I’ve got a short list of projects that I will be using my bargain find for.

A shelter for the hogs. Since I took down the fence on the hog lot to grade it off, I had removed the previous shelter and used that metal for the new chicken coop. I could have used a different color on the coop but I just don’t fly that way yet. If I can make it look decent I’ll try.

Raised beds. We are adding a whole bunch of new beds to the garden. There are a couple of low spots that will benefit from the raised beds being added in the long run. In the short term we will be able to use these areas that didn’t preform well last year because of wet feet.

High Tunnel. I still haven’t decided if I will stick frame the whole thing or just the knee walls. I did pick up a huge piece of heavy white plastic yesterday. It was used to cover a rail bulkhead flat car that was loaded with drywall. We set the car at the industry and the guys that unload the stock were more than happy to fold it up and help load it on the running board of the locomotive. The plastic sheet is HUGE! It filled up the back seat of my little go to work car. So far I have scrounged up two storm doors and some garage door panels from a car wash that are made of double walled clear plastic with an aluminum frame. I still have about 20 windows that I could use that are stored in my brothers barn. I just feel like this idea maybe turning into more of a permanent fixture than I had originally intended.

Moving Katys tree house. Shortly after finishing this project the 100 year old oak that we built around was fried by lightening. The old guy has really started to drop limbs and will have to come down. Nothing will be easy about this little project. The house is 6×8 sitting on a 12×12 deck of pressure treated wood. I would hate to have to disassemble the whole thing but that may be the best option. We may try to lower the whole monster with the skid steer and the front loader on my tractor. Regardless of how we do it, the tree will have to come down first. I am NOT looking forward to that day.

If it ever stops raining I might be able to start the short list.

After we had the near 10″ rain last week, that didn’t wash out our drive, we had a 15 minute burst of around 3″ yesterday that did. I knew that I shouldn’t have said anything about how fortunate we were not to have our road wash out in my previous post. Luckily this time most of the gravel ended up in neat collections in the ditches. Many times it just goes. When it collects as it did this time it becomes a matter of redistribution. Scoop out the ditch. Fill in the deepest wash and re-grade the whole road. Beats the crap out of buying more minus. Just the price one pays for building a road on a hell of a hill.

7 Comments

  1. Ed Abbey said,

    April 1, 2008 at 6:57 AM

    Sounds like your slate of projects is full to me.

  2. Ed Abbey said,

    April 1, 2008 at 6:57 AM

    Oh, and happy birthday!

  3. Kush said,

    April 1, 2008 at 7:38 AM

    Happy Birthday!!! Sounds like your short list is as long as mine.

  4. hillbilly2be said,

    April 1, 2008 at 10:47 AM

    This comment has been removed by the author.

  5. Danielle said,

    April 1, 2008 at 11:00 AM

    Hey there, happy birthday you!Some people’s short lists wouldn’t be quite so long if they worked a little quicker. ;)I have to say how very happy I’ve been with our high tunnel. Definitely one of the best projects we’ve done here—we’ll be adding another this fall. The great thing about the high tunnel, too, is that we’ll be able to trade the plastic for shadecloth come summer and continue to grow greens through the dog days.Hope you have a great day with a wonderful meal waiting for you at the end of it. Cheers!

  6. edifice rex said,

    April 2, 2008 at 4:18 PM

    Happy Birthday Woody! even though I’m a little late.

  7. nita said,

    April 2, 2008 at 9:15 PM

    Happy BD – Your load of lumber sounds wonderful, nothing like making your list longer! As if you didn’t already have a lot of projects.


Leave a Reply

