Noah…

The rain has been coming down like I have never seen before. Last evening on the way into the house I dumped our rain gauge out at 4 inches. This morning I again emptied the gauge. It was completely full. Well over five inches with the catching cone overflowing. Our highway is closed between us and St. James because the Meramec river has busted out of her banks. As much as we have received here it appears that further south there have been rainfall totals in excess of a foot.

I hadn’t had a chance to burn the leaves out of the more shallow ditches lining our road but I was surprised that they were fairly clear. That is a huge plus for us because we often have washouts of our road up to the house. I guess the rain came down so fast that it carried much of the debris away. Our road was spared any severe washouts.

This was my first full week back running a train. I’m happy that I’m not suffering any soreness from any new activity. It sure is nice to be back earning a check again.

Some of the guys at work plastered the outside of my locker with ads for riding clinics and pony rides. Inside my locker they placed a friendly little stick pony. Something I could handle a little easier than a Belgian mare. I had a good laugh out of their efforts. I’ve also heard a few imitations of horse nays on the radio…

7 Comments

  1. Ed Abbey said,

    March 19, 2008 at 8:21 AM

    I drove through that rain for the last two days. Fortunately, where I live is on the northern edge so we haven’t received that much.Hope your area dries out sometime soon.

  2. Rayne said,

    March 19, 2008 at 11:12 AM

    I am so glad your first week back went well.Hope you all don’t end up having any problems from all of that rain.

  3. edifice rex said,

    March 19, 2008 at 4:06 PM

    Hey Woody! Glad you are back in the saddle…HAAAA HAAAA! so to speak. Seriously, glad to hear you are back at work. If your guys are anything like this bunch that I am working around down here I bet they are having a time at your expense. 😉

  4. hillbilly2be said,

    March 19, 2008 at 8:51 PM

    This comment has been removed by the author.

  5. karl said,

    March 19, 2008 at 10:15 PM

    every toad in our county is strangled.the lakes and creeks are cresting to record proportions.these are crazy times.

  6. Woody said,

    March 20, 2008 at 5:56 AM

    We took a look at the highway 19 bridge in Steelville last night. The water was a foot or two below the bridge deck which normally is a good 20′ over the river. It was almost as bad as the 82′ floods here, but nothing like what I lived through in 93′ in Illinois. Now that thing was damned near biblical.It is very good to be back to working. Thanks ya’ll for your comments.peace

  7. nita said,

    March 27, 2008 at 11:44 AM

    I lost your comment in the spam abyss – send it again if you get the time. I hope your rain is subsiding.


Leave a Reply

