tagged

I was tagged this morning by Monica at SmallMeadow Farm.

I’m supposed to tell you five things about myself and find five more victims to pass the pain on to. I probably won’t tag anyone else, but I will fill out my half of the obligation for the hell of it.

1. I enjoy splitting wood. There is something spiritual and soothing in getting a log to split with a clean and crisp crack with an ax.

2. I could watch a baseball game everyday. I would prefer to go to the ballpark, but a televised game will do in a pinch. In a perfect world I would be seated on the third base side about ten rows deep at Busch stadium with no one seated on each side of me and the seat in front of me empty so I could flop my legs over the back of the seat. Since it would be only in a perfect world make them all day games. Sunny and 85 please. I’m a Cardinals Fan and will be forever, but a little league game is a blast to take in too.

3. I would like to be a potter or work as a metal artist if I weren’t running a train. The funny part about it is I don’t know how to weld and I haven’t thrown a pot since 1984.

4. Gardening is the best excuse to spend the day in the sun next to a day game.

5. I enjoy cooking. I would rather cook over an open fire than inside. There is NOTHING better than a wonderful cut of beef cooked medium rare over an open wood fire.

This was harder to complete than I anticipated.

4 Comments

  1. February 7, 2008 at 10:13 PM

    These tag things really are harder than they look! I’m with you on #4, except that I don’t watch baseball or softball unless one of my kids is playing.

  2. Ed Abbey said,

    February 8, 2008 at 8:07 AM

    Welding is a pretty easy skill to pick up, at least with a MIG welder and for creating art. Welding pressure vessels require a bit more skill.

  3. edifice rex said,

    February 9, 2008 at 8:23 PM

    You know, I love to split wood too. That is one reason why I have been excited that I found a reason to put a wood burning heater in my house. I’ll have to split wood! FC wrote about his enjoyment of wood chopping awhile back too. It’s funny because (since I am a welder and a potter) I find all those activities to be rather soothing in a similar way. I guess because they all involve repetitive motion. You should learn to weld. It also gives you a great sense of power.

  4. February 10, 2008 at 7:21 AM

    Thanks!And remember—your never to old to learn how to weld 🙂 One of these days maybe? And YES it is hard to complete these things.Monica


Leave a Reply

