waiting

I have been released by my doctor to return to work. I have taken a physical with the company quack who has approved my return. Now I wait for the review of the medical department in Norfolk to reaffirm the opinion of their contract doc.

Sounds like a gigantic truckload of redundant redundancy.

Eventually they’ll call me back and I can start to complain about railroading again.

I’ve been doing really well with the help of the physical therapy. Those ladies have really helped me help myself get to feeling much better. Just getting on my feet and moving around has assisted in the effort to lose 13 pounds so far. I still feel like a jelly dough nut, but I’ve managed to squeeze a little of the filling out.

We’ve started to do a little garden planning. It always brightens a cold and cloudy day to spread all the seed catalogs out on the floor and dream of spring.

Our chickens finally started laying again. I set a timer up on a lamp so their day starts a bit earlier than ours. I want them to get around 14 hours of light so I start the timer in the wee hours of the AM so they don’t have to stumble around in the PM looking for their roost. I’m sure glad my alarm clock isn’t hooked up to the lights. That would be a little to rude of an awakening for me.

5 Comments

  1. Ed Abbey said,

    January 16, 2008 at 7:34 AM

    I’ve never heard of putting chickens on timers. I guess our chickens always just stumbled around trying to find a roost. More than one frosty evening I spent climbing trees to get roosting chickens before they froze to death. I wish I had known about the timer thing back then.

  2. Kush said,

    January 16, 2008 at 9:56 AM

    Glad you will soon be back on the job. We have a light in our chicken coop that is also on a timer. It actually comes on in the morning for a bit then again in the evening. The egg production is much higher than if they set their clock by the sun alone.

  3. Danielle said,

    January 17, 2008 at 4:33 PM

    Well now, hey there stranger! Glad to have you back in the blogosphere—I was beginning to miss you!Yes, we have our chickens with a light for an hour or two in the morning and in the evening. Makes chores easier and keeps production up.

  4. Tracey said,

    January 17, 2008 at 7:52 PM

    Darling has been bugging me to get more chickens as the last bunch got eaten by…??? She says she can no longer abide by store bought eggs for breakfast. She’d be so jealous to know you’ve got layers…Glad that you’re feeling a bit better. PT can be a pain, but you know what they say…no pain no gain!

  5. hillbilly2be said,

    January 19, 2008 at 11:18 PM

    This comment has been removed by the author.


Leave a Reply

