Miracles

I finished up a weeks worth of physical therapy yesterday. After a mere three visits to the bone and muscle manipulators, the benders of weak joints and muscles, I must say that they have preformed miracles.

The first day they fooled me a bit. I was instructed to lay face down on a table where I was massaged, bent and twisted. Well hell…This ain’t too bad I was thinking. I could live with being rubbed down and stretched. Oh…. but an evil twist was about to occur, exercise.

Stair- master

Tread mill

and these stupid over sized rubber bands that I had to stretch out with my legs to build the strength back in muscles I haven’t used since my graceful exit from the back of Tater. They even sent one of the bands home with me to continue the torture in a more familiar setting.

The addition of damn near twenty pounds of extra insulation does not help out a guy that isn’t too keen on the idea of a Stair-master anyway. I still can’t believe that I put on that much weight. Having worn bib overalls for most of the time after the fall I hadn’t really wanted to notice my growing girth.

It’s my fish tank theory. The bigger a tank you put a fish in, the bigger the fish will grow. I have always tried to avoid buying a larger size in britches for this reason. I just grow into them.

I am truly grateful that I can finally start to do something…anything. I’m thankful to the ladies at the physical therapy clinic for all their help. I feel so much better in just this short period under their care it leaves me wanting more. The funny thing about their tutelage is they are telling me that I walk like a duck. I’m thinking…well no kidding there Einstein…I fell off a damned horse and busted my arse. My loving wife remarks that their observation is true and I have walked like that ever since she knew me. Some how it has to be her fault. I never recall waddling anywhere. So now I have to concentrate on walking with what feels like my toes turned in. I get to go from a duck walk to being pigeon toed all in the name of healing.

13 Comments

  1. Kush said,

    December 21, 2007 at 11:34 AM

    Glad to hear you are feeling better! Must say from a selfish point of view I miss the frequency of your posts when you were first laid up.

  2. Woody said,

    December 21, 2007 at 2:19 PM

    Thanks Kush…It is nice to be able to take care of business around here. Now all I have to do is get back to working on the railroad. I assure you that as soon as I get back to that den of idiocy I will have plenty to write about.

  3. Annie said,

    December 22, 2007 at 10:18 AM

    Woody I am so glad to hear that you are doing better! and dont worry about that weight, it will come off again once you are well enough to get back to all those things you did before your fall!Have a Wonderful Christmas!Blessings,Annie

  4. edifice rex said,

    December 22, 2007 at 6:40 PM

    Glad you are feeling better Woody! I hurt my back pulling concrete once and was sent to physical therapy. At first I thought, this is never going to help ( the exercises didn’t seem to make sense for what was wrong) but it was great! They fixed me up completely. I do a few exercises every now and then for maintenance.

  5. hillbilly2be said,

    December 23, 2007 at 4:14 PM

    This comment has been removed by the author.

  6. Rayne said,

    December 26, 2007 at 11:41 AM

    Oh! Those damn rubberbands! Hate them! Hate them! I have so many of those in all different colors and tied with different knots and handles and who know what and they are my bane.It is good to know you are feeling better. Are they going to let you do pool therapy? That is the best.

  7. Ed Abbey said,

    December 27, 2007 at 9:14 AM

    So when are you getting back into the saddle?

  8. Woody said,

    December 28, 2007 at 9:49 AM

    Annie…I was fat before the fall.Annie Rex…I love my physical therapy. It’s so nice to be doing ANYTHING.Ron..Kids boo-boos seem to hurt me more than them.Rayne..No pool therapy. All I would do is bob around like a buoy. I really have put on a layer of blubber. I feel like an elephant seal minus the proboscis.Ed…I will be back in the saddle. I think it will be a good 6 months before it will be tolerable though.

  9. January 2, 2008 at 4:38 PM

    Physical therapy—had it and it did wonders. Why someone didn’t tell me sooner about it I don’t know.Congrats on feeling better—and love that fish tank “theory”. I think my husband and you have a very similar philosophy on that :-DMonica

  10. January 2, 2008 at 5:15 PM

    Glad you’re on the mend!

  11. BettyWestern said,

    January 3, 2008 at 1:07 AM

    Glad you’re getting there Woody, you have my ‘ass-felt’ sympathy!Happy New Year too.

  12. cat said,

    January 3, 2008 at 2:24 PM

    so glad you are feeling better woody!! sorry i haven’t commented in awhile…busy with life i guess! but glad to hear your new year is starting off on a healthier footing..:) happy new year my cyber friend! 🙂

  13. Anonymous said,

    January 6, 2008 at 6:55 PM

    hurry up and get back to work so your lovely wife can have a day off and go out with her friend!!!!


Leave a Reply

