Snickers

We picked up our old buddy Snickers from the processor this week. I was in the kitchen last Wednesday frying up some of the wonderfully smoked bacon when my daughter stuck her head around the corner. She looked at me with sad eyes. I mean those big glistening hazel pools that she can work up at a whim. These were the real ones though. I could feel the sadness in her heart as she asked if the sizzle she was hearing was her hog.

I told her it was and offered her a piece.

I know my daughter is as much, if not more of a bacon hound than me. We can mow through a plate of bacon in a heart beat.

She accepted the slice and slowly put it to her mouth. She had the look as though she was trying out a spoonful of wasabi.

That look quickly passed and she chewed it up.

“Dad…” she said, “Snickers sure is a good pig.”

10 Comments

  1. November 26, 2007 at 12:07 PM

    Hee hee, we once butchered a heifer named Beauty. Our kids would say, “yum, Beauty Burgers!” or “this sure is some good Beauty!”

  2. Ed Abbey said,

    November 26, 2007 at 2:44 PM

    I think every farm kid goes through this at some point. For me, it was our hog with tag number 747 which we kept as her name. She was tasty as well as a good sow when she was alive.

  3. Danielle said,

    November 26, 2007 at 4:36 PM

    Awww, that wasn’t the pig she was rolling around in the mud with was it? What a great story!My youngest daughter wouldn’t even let me talk of selling any bacon from our first pigs because she wanted it all. We’re big bacon eaters here, too.

  4. Chase Davis said,

    November 26, 2007 at 6:40 PM

    That’s a great story.

  5. hillbilly2be said,

    November 26, 2007 at 10:48 PM

    This comment has been removed by the author.

  6. Marvin said,

    November 27, 2007 at 3:05 AM

    A great story, Woody.It reminds me of when we used to by a half of a hog that a friend raised. During this time the friend’s sons grew from babies to rowdy young boys, rowdy young boys who like to play with the hog, including riding him. So much exercise produced some really le-e-e-ean pork. I swear that I am not exaggerating when I report that you had to add oil to the cast iron skillet to keep the bacon from sticking.

  7. Annie said,

    November 27, 2007 at 8:11 AM

    The harder side of farm life, but in the end it turns out good!

  8. Kirsty said,

    December 5, 2007 at 2:31 AM

    oh dear I cried like a girl….and so did Jamie

  9. Annie said,

    December 13, 2007 at 3:13 PM

    Hi Woody, Where have you gone? I miss your stories, I hope everything is going good for you guys!Annie

  10. December 18, 2007 at 5:17 PM

    A good pig and more appreciated for the knowing. You do well. Enjoy and Merry Christmas!-Walterin Vermont


Leave a Reply

