Sunday…game day


It was “game on” Sunday. The young guns of our church challenged the “older, slower over eighteen” bunch to a pasture kickball contest. To those unfamiliar with this soon to be Olympic sport allow me to give you a quick run down.

Paper plates are used for bases. This works great on calm days but the baselines are very flexible when there is a slight breeze. The standard rules of kickball apply with maybe the exception of the three foul your out rule. There is also no mercy for the little guys because they are cute and smaller than us older, slower over eighteen crowd. Those little pecker gnats are fast and the ball is quite soft so it is completely allowable to knock the snot out of them if you can hit them.

Oh yes…I almost forgot. There are certain hazards involved when the playing field is shared for the purpose of grazing. It is the responsibility of the participant to ensure their playing area is clear of, or at least aware of the dreaded bovine hazards to a ball players footing. Some of these hazards are worse than others solely based on their degree of maturity, but one can never truly determine the state of maturity unless a “stick check” is used. An outer shell can form on a sun filled and windy day that can fool the amateur. It’s all just a part of the game.

Thankfully for all those involved the green streaks that appeared on the players jeans were from fresh chlorophyll. No one made the sliding catch that just wouldn’t stop sliding.

I also have to admit that the young bunch opened a can of whoop ass on the long teeth. They took the first two innings very seriously and out scored the gray haired walker group by a gazillion runs to maybe four. The official score keeper had walked back up to the house for a coke leaving the score non certified.

I’m certain that once all the old folks reestablished the muscle memory thing for kickball and put on their game faces a different outcome would be seen. A rematch will have to wait till the next church hayride.

I almost forgot to mention that I was unable to play the field, but I did perform the duties of umpire and coach of the old folks from the relative comfort of a lawn chair. The lopsided umpiring didn’t help the cause of the Geritol crushers though.

It was a beautiful Sunday for the hayride/bonfire. As far as I know everyone had a great time. What an awesome bunch of people I get to hang out, work and worship with.

My brother and sister in law had an open house Sunday to celebrate their fifth year with Frisco’s.

We made it into the the restaurant with an hour left in the celebration. They had a HUGE crowd. It was really cool to see their hard work rewarded with such an outpouring of support from the community. Of course free food and drink is a hell of a draw. Especially if it is their food.

I quickly found my favorite spot on the patio, next to the fireplace. They had a bluegrass band playing there. The band was very good, especially the fiddle player. I regret I didn’t ask their name, although I have seen a couple of the players eating in the restaurant before. Nothing like home pickin’ for a Sunday afternoon. I would like to hear these guys at a Sit, Spit and Lie.

I was also complimented on my dapper choice in attire for the day. The fiddler commented “There is a man that knows how to dress” We both had our bibs on.

5 Comments

  1. Rayne said,

    November 5, 2007 at 9:44 AM

    This sounds like such a wonderful day. Brought back some fantastic memories of the old guys against the kids games we used to have at the fire house. There was one old guy, well, he was old to me at the time, for all I know he could have been 30, but anyway, he would start off the game with a beer. Every now and again, he would down another beer. Before the game was half over he was a permanent fixture of the outfield with a pitcher of beer and a cup. We used him as an out of bounds marker.

  2. Danielle said,

    November 5, 2007 at 2:29 PM

    Just a note to say that I’ve tagged you for the You Make Me Smile Award.

  3. Ed Abbey said,

    November 6, 2007 at 7:09 AM

    In grade school, I was always teased for having to wear these monsterously huge snow boots to school even if the weather was just cold and no snow. That is until I decided to play kickball one day and found out about momentum when I scored three consecutive homeruns. I moved up the pecking order list that day.

  4. Annie said,

    November 6, 2007 at 11:14 AM

    Sounds like a wonderful day!Congrats on the you make me smile award! You deserve it, I look forward to your stories, they are always enjoyable to read and you always put a smile on my face when I read them!Annie

  5. Leslie said,

    November 8, 2007 at 8:30 AM

    I love the description of the game, especially the “stick test” and the score keeper going back to the house for a coke.


Leave a Reply

