Sit, Spit and Lie


Saturday night we had the great fun of attending our friends annual Sit, Spit and Lie Party. Basically an excellent excuse to get together with some of the most interesting, fun loving, diverse and friendly folk from around the area. Our hosts are Rob and Willie (Willie wears the skirt in this duo because her name is really Linda). They always seem to gather people together that I just love to visit with. The whole idea here is to eat some really good food, sample some different concoctions of the alcoholic persuasion, or not, and sit around a nice hardwood fire on hay bales to talk about you name it. We have meet some very cool people the last couple of years that I am pleased to call friends.

You just know it’s going to be an interesting night of vittles when the spread runs the gamut from sushi to fried chicken.

And the dessert table… I might as well just unbutton my damned bibs cause there are two of Theresa’s apple pies sitting there calling my name. I’ll usually hit the dessert table first when she takes the time to make her pies. She makes the best damed pies I have EVER ate. It is after all the reason I married her.

It was a perfect night for a fire. Cold and clear with a near full moon. The wonderful aroma of oak burning in wood stoves invaded the cab of the truck as we drove into the river valley on the way to the party. I simply love this time of year when the air is crisp and the colors bright.

Next morning after church we retrieved the hay we had brought down for seating from Willie and Robs then made ready for our next mission. Our friends Jim and Laura brought us their stock trailer so we could load our hogs for the smoke house. It’s always a good idea to load any critter well in advance of any scheduled delivery. Hogs have no idea that you have dinner on the stove or care that you need to drop them off at the processor at 7:00am. They don’t wear watches. At least it was too cold to work in underwear and Birkenstocks…(see “on a roll” post from October 10)

All went well with loading. A huge thanks to Jim and Laura for their help. I still can’t move around very well, nor should I be doing so says my lovely wife. This getting injured crap has just got to stop. I have a better understanding of the injured ball player that so desperately wants to get back on the field. Not being able to do some of the simplest things can really piss a guy off.

I know that Theresa would sure enjoy a change in my choice of clothing. Since cracking my butt I haven’t been able to button a pair of jeans without pain. I wear my bibs. I wear them at home, to dinner, taking Katy to school, and even to church. Thank God I have more than one pair.

7 Comments

  1. Annie said,

    October 30, 2007 at 8:16 AM

    Sounds like a great party! and Bibs in the right setting can be fashionable!Hope you are healing well! and hope you Have a good Day!

  2. Peggy said,

    October 30, 2007 at 4:54 PM

    Sounds like a perfect evening! Think I will have to have one of those here and see how it goes. Hope you are mending well and soon back into your jeans.LOL

  3. pat said,

    October 31, 2007 at 6:02 PM

    There is no way you married that beautiful woman because she bakes a mean pie. Hope your butt and pride heal up soon and your back in the saddle. Take care my friend.

  4. Ed Abbey said,

    November 2, 2007 at 6:23 AM

    After reading about your party, I’m suddenly reminded of many similar parties in the distant past and feel the need to start having more in the near future.

  5. Danielle said,

    November 3, 2007 at 7:22 PM

    Awww, so glad to hear you’re feeling better enough this time around to load pigs in appropriate attire and sit around a camp fire, eating, spitting, and lying. Hope the bones are healing nicely and the mood isn’t so melancholy.

  6. Woody said,

    November 4, 2007 at 4:34 AM

    annie…bibs are the rage this year.peggy…it was and thanks, i an doinf better.pat and ed…we missed both of you round the fire.danielle..it’s good to be feeling and dressing better. thanks

  7. Patty said,

    November 4, 2007 at 7:46 AM

    Sounds like a great party. Never heard of one with that name but it sure sounds fun !


Leave a Reply

