Tuesday

It seems fall has finally arrived. I always look forward to the change in seasons. The addition of some much needed rain, along with the cooler temperatures, is just what we needed here. I have the view of a wonderful splash of color from the windows on the back of our house. The hillside drops off quickly to expose the bright yellows, burnt oranges of the oaks and hickory and the crimson of the dogwoods hugging at their feet. There is something very special about the first burst of sunlight the cuts the morning fog across a holler to unwrap the colors that Gods painting with this morning. It makes me feel grateful to see what I would be missing if I hadn’t had the time to look today.

I had one of the worst days of pain and depression since my graceful slide from the wide ass of my favorite mare. It was just one of those days when everything I touched turned to scat, including my attitude. It was nice to wake this morning and get to see the view that I can surely assume was there yesterday.

I’m not a very happy camper with the “wait and see” approach my doctor is taking. Although I am relieved he said that a surgical fix was not the answer at the present time, I would like to feel just a tad better. This is the first (and hopefully the last) time I have been injured where I wasn’t back to a state of near normal operation in a couple of days or at the most a week. Getting older and fatter most likely doesn’t help the body out in the healing department. It would just be damn nice to be able to sleep through the night without waking up from a stabbing pain in my groin or back.

OK…Now I feel better after getting my little whine and cheese off my chest.

7 Comments

  1. Ed Abbey said,

    October 23, 2007 at 10:59 AM

    My younger brother is currently in the same holding pattern you seem to be in. He is supposed to find out Wednesday if further surgery is needed. It’s hard to set your mind to healing when you don’t know if they are finished fixin’ ya first!

  2. edifice rex said,

    October 23, 2007 at 4:51 PM

    Well, I hope your recovery speeds up quite a bit Woody. I can imagine it’s frustrating. I get like that with my house because it’s not going fast enough but I know if I endure that day then the next day will look better.

  3. Leslie said,

    October 24, 2007 at 12:38 PM

    Pain will make anyone into a crabby camper. I’m sure the boredom and frustration at not getting to do things that “need” doing is eating at you too.Heal well, and heal thoroughly. And have some better days on the way to wellness.

  4. Annie said,

    October 25, 2007 at 8:28 AM

    Thank you for looking at my Blog! The ray stevens song is a joke for my Daughter who hates my chickens! and a little honor for my feathery ladies!lolI hope everything will work out for you and the healing process will speed up! Its no fun to be in pain and sleep deprived. I hope you find comfort very soon!

  5. October 25, 2007 at 3:02 PM

    Thank you for leaving a comment on my blog, Woody. Today is the first I have seen your blog but I know I will be back.

  6. Stephanie said,

    October 25, 2007 at 5:59 PM

    What a wonderful description of the holler. You could be describing my back yard. Sometimes we all need a touch of wonder to get the focus in the right place. BTW Loved the hog story! :)Thanks for visiting the 100 Acre Wood!

  7. Kirsty said,

    October 26, 2007 at 3:42 PM

    Oh Woody I wish you a speedy recovery! There is nothing worse than a bad day. I know if my day starts bad chances are it will continue for the rest of it! I hope you don’t have to endure any more of those daysThinking of youKirsty


Leave a Reply

