Truckload of stupid

Well, I guess one could say that I was the driver of a truckload of stupid that was spilled all over northern Crawford county.

My brother took delivery of a new belgian mare named Tater over the weekend. I thought it would be a good idea to take a little ride on this tall, buff and beautiful girl. Did I mention she was tall? The long and short of where the truck wreck started was when I informed my brother that the keys were in my truck and my cell phone was in the center console. He might need this information if I ended up on my end. He did and so did I.

I took a one and a half gainer off the back of Tater and was told I did a nice job of whacking the back of my head on the wonderfully dry, rock like clay that is so prevalent in this area. In the process of landing on my lower back and smacking my head and knocking myself out, I ended up breaking my pelvis, or you could say I cracked my ass.

The emergency room doc says I could be out of work for a month or two. This was news that was taken soooooooooo well by my lovely wife after she discovered I was not going to die or have any lasting brain damage (other than the lack of use of said brain prior to mounting a huge horse bareback without a bridle) Did I mention she is really tall?

Other than being really sore this morning and not sleeping much through the night I cannot complain too much. I wasn’t hurt any worse than I am and I had my brother there to scrape me up and deliver me to the hospital.

Did I tell ya’ll how tall she is?

12 Comments

  1. Ed Abbey said,

    October 2, 2007 at 8:05 AM

    For the second post in a row… Doh!May you heal up fast and strong.

  2. Woody said,

    October 2, 2007 at 8:40 AM

    Thanks Ed…looks like it will be a long one.

  3. Rayne said,

    October 2, 2007 at 11:34 AM

    I am so glad you are relatively okay.I hope the healing goes quickly and well.At the very least you, hopefully, learned a lesson?

  4. pablo said,

    October 2, 2007 at 4:49 PM

    Photos! I want photos!

  5. Woody said,

    October 2, 2007 at 9:04 PM

    Rayne..thanks and yes, an ongoing learning experience. Pablo..yeah right, buy a ticket..lol

  6. October 2, 2007 at 10:36 PM

    Oh, bless your heart! And, how tall did you say she was?

  7. karl said,

    October 3, 2007 at 4:47 AM

    oops, i hope you heal quickly. exactly, how much were those tickets?

  8. October 5, 2007 at 5:31 PM

    Egads! I wish you a speedy recovery. In the future perhaps it might be best to get to know a lady before trying to mount her… :} Hopefully the relationship will improve from here!

  9. Woody said,

    October 6, 2007 at 5:16 AM

    Karl.. it is becoming apparent that the tickets will be getting quite expensive..Walter.. Well put, I don’t have a choice but to take it slow.

  10. edifice rex said,

    October 8, 2007 at 8:35 PM

    Hey Woody! Hope you get better soon! We had a Belgian mare when I was a kid and they are quite a force to be reckoned with! We had an incident with her plowing and a small, yapping dog. Not pretty. I just followed your link and love your blog! I think I have mentioned on mine that I am working on a job in a railrod yard now. You being a locomotive engineer, you might appreciate a story that I am considering posting. It’s pretty humiliating for me but pretty funny anyway. Hope you feel better quickly.

  11. Kirsty said,

    October 9, 2007 at 4:43 AM

    Oh dear Woody I’ve been a bit busy and I missed all the action. I will be trhinking off you during your recovery!

  12. Woody said,

    October 9, 2007 at 1:54 PM

    Rex..My interest is now officially peaking on what a sculpture/potter would be doing in a rail yard.Kristy.. Thanks for the kind thoughts. There is but no other way to describe recovery from this type of injury but BORING.


Leave a Reply

