What happen there?

I had a post disappear on me. I most likely deleted the darn thing with my fat fingers and cross wired brain. So take two….

I think she is hooked on showing hogs.

Before we loaded Rocket up for the fair Katy had to try out her new muck boots in the wallow. You can see there is another motive here.

She has been wanting to take a swim in the wallow for awhile. Her mom, being a microbiologist, has an aversion to her taking a dip in the porcine pond. I think she enjoyed herself till I turned the hose on her. That well water is sooo cold even when the air temperature isn’t hovering in the mid 90’s.

Since I last posted about weather and garden progress the rain tap has been shut off. For a while I had this pipe dream that we would have a wet summer. Now we seem to be back to the typical. Dry crunchy grass and “dust farts” from anything that moves and the high temps and humidity that make summer the perfect prelude to fall. I realize that I should be grateful that we have had the conditions that we’ve had. There are a bunch of ya’ll who have been without much rain for far too long.

The pumpkins planted around the first of July are starting to stretch out in the summer heat. The tomatoes are doing wonderful. We have been eating them as fast as we can pick them though. BLT’s are number one on the menu right now. Green beans, egg plant and a late planting of sweet corn are coming along just fine, even with nightly raids from those big rats with hooves. I haven’t finished putting up the deer fence yet so I can’t really blame them for wanting to munch on something tender and green. I’m just thankful that they don’t like tomatoes.


5 Comments

  1. Danielle said,

    August 1, 2007 at 4:46 AM

    Oh my! She is a cutie in all that mud—and the pig’s pretty cute, too. ;)I’m in awe of people that small handling pigs that large, and I’ll admit to being a bit intimidated by such large animals. It’ll be interesting as ours get bigger, that’s for sure.

  2. Rurality said,

    August 2, 2007 at 6:32 AM

    What a cutie! I can’t imagine wanting to to that when I was her age.

  3. Woody said,

    August 2, 2007 at 2:56 PM

    Thanks danielle and rurality. Thank God she takes after her mother.

  4. August 3, 2007 at 7:14 PM

    Congratulations on the show! That’s two fine muddies there. 🙂

  5. tracey said,

    August 4, 2007 at 6:08 AM

    That looks like just too much country fun there! And congrats to her on the trophy; job well done!


Leave a Reply

