And the rockets red glare

This kid really made her mom and dad very proud of her this past week. What could have been a very stressful time for us turned into a really cool event. Mostly the cause was an eight year olds attitude towards nearly all things asked of her. Katy went above and beyond all that I expected. Thank God for those pleasurable moments when your kid acts like you’re the greatest parents in the world. I get to glow a little for a short time.

Katy sang our National Anthem for the opening of the queen contest. She did a fantastic job! There is no way I could get on stage and do what she did. Besides I would sound like Roseanne if I tried. A friend mentioned that it was a good thing she couldn’t see how many people were there because of the stage lights. I don’t think it would have mattered much to her.

There was one more thing that just made me shake my head in amazement. She worked in the concession stand with us on Thursday night. At the window taking and filling orders, collecting the right amount of tickets, and doing it all with enthusiasm and pride in doing a job well. Dad just gets to watch and laugh and flip another burger…. Thanks God.

2 Comments

  1. Leslie said,

    July 30, 2007 at 11:19 AM

    Nice blog! You’re really a locomotive engineer? Is that fascinating or boring as all get-out? I suspect a little of both, by turns. I’ll be back.

  2. Woody said,

    July 30, 2007 at 6:08 PM

    Hi Leslie,,,thanks and yes. 18 years of service. I really enjoy running a train. I am fourth generation of railroader in our family. My brother was also an engineer until he decided to pursue his dream of opening a restaurant. I think now he would like to get back on the road for awhile. See you soon…peace


Leave a Reply

