Sunday Morning


It looks like rain this morning. Not quite yet, but I can smell it in the air. Lord knows we need it. Seems like just a couple of days ago I was making comment on the number of different plants and mushrooms I hadn’t seen around here before due to the rains we have had. This time of July for the last five years or better the tap just shuts off. Grass turns a nice crunchy brown and every piece of equipment moved stirs a low cloud of dust. I spent much of the yesterday watering and weeding the beds around the house. I found a volunteer spaghetti squash growing up the back of a viburnum and tangled up with nasturtium like, well spaghetti. It has a handful of large squash ready for picking. Almost all the squash in our “garden” have been attacked by vine bore and squash bugs to the point of pig slop, so this was a nice find.

2 Comments

  1. cat said,

    July 15, 2007 at 1:30 PM

    We had our squash attacked by vine borers as well…lost all our zukes and yellow squash. I was able to get about 30 pounds out of them though before the disaster, so will try again next time. Do you have any suggestions as far as preventative measures on these grubs? Lucky find with the squash too! I have a few nasturtiums, but bought the climbing variety seeds to plant on one of the back fences..;) i love them!

  2. Woody said,

    July 16, 2007 at 6:59 AM

    Hi cat,,, the best I can tell you is what I will try next time, raised beds and floating row cover. unless you want to spray the hell out of them or go nuclear,,,they really surprised us this year. I have never had to deal with them before. growing squash was always a no-brainer,,,till now. We use a lot of straw for mulch. i plan on keeping it back from the base of the pumpkins to see if that helps. Hopefully some gosh darn garden geek will tell me what I’m doing wrong so I can be eternally grateful,,,just like when my computer geek son-in-law fixes all my goofs on the puter.Peace


Leave a Reply

