I have had a couple of days to work around home this week. I would much rather work around here than drive the 154 mile round trip to my job. I really enjoy getting up before everyone else, getting a hot mug of coffee and taking a walk around the house and garden. Our labors on improving our soil has started to pay off. The kitchen garden is full of basil, cilantro and chives and several peppers. All the flower beds around the yard and house are full and in need of a good thinning and the vegetable garden finally has tomatoes that I’m not embarrassed to be seen with.

Our first of many loads of chipper mulch was brought up yesterday. The electric co-op has a private contractor working on trimming the trees out of the power line easements. They need some place to dump the chipper truck, so I’m the guy who gets the loads until I scream no more. I have taken some of the mulch for the foot paths in the garden and put it down already. The rest will have to cook for awhile before it goes in the flower beds.

I have almost completed our chicken coop. A long overdue project. If I had the house and run finished earlier I don’t think we would have lost the birds to the dogs. I still can”t believe that my dogs ate through the chicken wire of the tractor. We’re talking a couple of the laziest dogs I have known. I know that once a chicken killer always a chicken killer. The dogs were here long before any of the birds, so it will be up to me to provide a more secure run if I ever want to have a fresh egg that we didn’t get from the neighbors.

3 Comments

  1. cat said,

    July 14, 2007 at 12:14 PM

    Beautiful gardens! I also just read Tabitha’s page and Anatoly’s birth story..made me cry! We had both our girls at home, underwater and both born in the caul. It is such an amazing experience…:) Gorgeous family, gorgeous gardens…thanks so much for sharing..:)

  2. Leslie said,

    July 30, 2007 at 11:22 AM

    Flowers. That’s what I need to focus on more. I only have a couple of marigolds and a couple of nasturtiums. Not nearly what I should have. Baby steps, right?

  3. Woody said,

    July 30, 2007 at 6:16 PM

    We lucked out. When we built our house my folks were selling theirs. They had YEARS of perennials that we were able to dig starts from. We moved five truck loads of clumps of this and that here. It would have cost us a small fortune to plant what we did our first year. A mothers love,,,


Leave a Reply

