Pumpkin Patch

Yesterday I went to pick up some round bales of straw for garden mulching. Can’t beat the price of 22 dollars. I estimate at least 16 square bales to one round. At the prices the feed stores are charging for square I’m coming out smelling like a rose.

Chester and I loaded the straw, then headed to the house for a cool drink. It was already in the high eighties with the same humidity so I was sweating like a cold coke bottle.

We talked for about an hour and a half, mostly about local history and family roots. We found out that we were related through marriage on our mothers’ sides. It is a small world. They have so many pictures and documentation about their family, and their farm. It is really cool to be able to see how life was lived through the letters saved by his family. One letter in particular was a general accounting of life from 1860 Missouri. All the work at hand just to survive on a day to day basis.

I’m really looking forward to our next visit.

This morning I planted our pumpkins. This is our first true pumpkin patch. We’ve always had an odd plant here and there, but now I have a dedicated patch. I can’t help but look ahead to Katy choosing the perfect pumpkin to carve. She really loves to grow things. I know she has tried more veggies than she normally would have, simply because she had a hand in growing them.

2 Comments

  1. Leslie said,

    July 30, 2007 at 11:27 AM

    How do you transport a round bale? We are buying square bales at the feed store for a little over $4 apiece. Ouch! We’re considering getting a sweeper thing that will sweep up grass clippings behind the riding lawn mower. One trip clearing a swath to the pond and back and I’d be set 🙂

  2. Woody said,

    July 30, 2007 at 6:27 PM

    You can load a round bale in a full size pickup. We have a flat bed trailer that we just run a strap on. They are pretty darn heavy. A good friend of mine lets me use his dump trailer too. It’s nice because I can haul three bales, not have to strap them and just dump them off without having to sling them with the front loader. The lawn sweeper is a good idea, but you would be surprised how much organic material people will haul to you. I have the tree trimmers for the electrical co-op dumping their chipper truck here.


Leave a Reply

