Happy Fourth

I’m just starting to feel my way around with this blog. I have very little experience with such things. A one finger keyboard man.

I’ve wanted to put something like this together for some time now.

We live on our rocky little ridge in Crawford County Missouri. We bought our land and built our home about five years ago on ten acres. We have worked hard to get our clay soil to produce a garden. It hasn’t been easy. I’ve hauled in loads of manure from the sale barn and composted spoiled hay, leaves and manure. We have turned, added lime and anything else I can get my hands on to get this ground workable. This year is the first that our tomatoes actually look like tomatoes!

Our daughter is showing hogs and her chicken for the county fair. She has learned so much about raising her livestock. I think 4H is the best thing going for kids and parents. When her market hog slashed his shoulder on some metal from his shelter she was right in there cleaning the wound and applying iodine. I know she is going to have a hard time selling him. She knows he is raised for meat,,, just not for our table.

Her chicken project has been the true adventure. After buying 25 chicks and raising them out of the brooder to a outside run the dogs, Sandy and Biscuit killed all but one. Goldie, the lone survivor.

Today Katy and I are going to our friends to unload their wood fired kiln. We spent much of Saturday helping to feed that dragon with more wood that I use all winter. I can’t wait to see the results.

1 Comment

  1. karl said,

    July 11, 2007 at 5:23 AM

    we moved here 2 years ago on the fourth of july. our garden was a ten year overgrown pasture. large tree stumps needed to be dug and burned. roots and rocks and clay were the mainstay of the soil. we had a dense three inches of top-ish soil. it has been a struggle to get our garden into shape but this year things are also looking up.


Leave a Reply

